Skip to main content

Licensed Child Care Providers

provider in care center at table with three preschoolers playing with blocks

Licensed Child Care Providers

The Child Care Licensing Bureau issues licenses to Family Child Care Homes, Group Child Care Homes, and Child Care Centers. If you are a licensed child care provider, or want to become one, these resources can help:

Application and Renewal Resources

Get licensed as a Family or Group Child Care Home

Family and Group Home Child Care Home Application Renewal Information

Get Licensed as a Child Care Center

Child Care Center Application Renewal Information

For more application and renewal resources, visit the Child Care Licensing and Application Renewal page.

Regardless of the type, all licensed child care providers must read the licensing rules, which can be found on the Rules and Statutes page and 1973 PA 116, before submitting an application.

To learn more about becoming licensed as a child care center, group child care home or family child care home, call the Child Care Licensing Bureau toll free at 1-866-685-0006 or visit the Child Care Licensing Bureau site.

Criminal Background Check Requirements for Licensed Child Care Facilities

Becoming a licensed child care facility requires a background check. This section explains more about the background check process. The process for another state to obtain Michigan's registry checks is also detailed in this section.

Criminal Background Check Frequently Asked Questions

  • A child care background check is a both a fingerprint-based and name-based check that will cover the following:

    • Michigan State Police (MSP) fingerprint-based check of criminal history.
    • Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) fingerprint-based check of criminal history.
    • National Crime Information Center's check of the National Sex Offender Registry (NCIC/NSOR).
    • Michigan Public Sex Offender Registry (PSOR).
    • Michigan Child Abuse & Neglect Central Registry Database Check.
    • Review of the department's database for previous disciplinary action.

    If a person lived outside of Michigan within the past 5 years, the following checks will also be conducted for each state or country the person has lived in during the past 5 years:

    • State(s) Criminal History Check for any Non-National Fingerprint File (NFF) State.
    • State(s) Child Abuse and Neglect Registry Check.
    • National Sex Offender Public Website (NSOPW).

    If a person lived in another country and is unable to obtain the equivalent background check components, the person must sign a self-certifying statement that he or she is not ineligible to receive a license, to be an adult member of the household, or to be a child care staff member.

  • Child care background checks are completed on the following individuals:

    • Applicants for a Child Care License
    • Licensees (Family, Group and Center)
    • Licensee Designees (Centers Only)
    • Program Directors (Centers Only)
    • Child Care Staff (Family, Group and Center), including a contract employee or a self-employed individual.
    • Adult Member of Household (Family and Group)
    • Volunteers with Unsupervised Access to children in care (Family, Group and Center)
    • An individual who has unsupervised access to children who are cared for or supervised by a family child care home, group child care home, or child care center.  (Family, Group, and Center)

    An adult member of the household shall not move into the home of a licensed child care provider until they have completed a child care background check and been found eligible by the department.

  • There are multiple instances where a person may be found ineligible to be a licensed child care provider. These instances are listed in MCL 116 722.115r.

     

  • A child care background check costs $64.25 if the person has not lived outside of Michigan in the past 5 years.  All fingerprinting must be scheduled and processed through the Child Care Background Check System using the State approved fingerprinting vendor, Idemia.  The department does not charge for the processing of child care fingerprints.  Of the $64.25 charged, the following is received by these agencies:

     

    Child Care Background Check Cost
    Organization Cost
    Michigan State Police $30
    Federal Bureau of Investigation $13.25
    Idemia $21
    Total $64.25

     

    If a person has lived outside of Michigan within the past 5 years, additional out of state background checks are required.  The department will mail instructions to the applicant related to any additional forms and fees that must be submitted.  The instructions must be followed, and all forms and fees requested must be submitted as instructed.  The department does not pay for the processing of these additional background checks.  The additional forms and fees needed to obtain information from other states must be submitted by the applicant in order to be found eligible.   

     

  • The applicant or the licensee pays for the background check. 

    Occasionally, the department may receive funds to assist with the cost of fingerprinting.  When the department obtains funding, the department provides licensees with coupons to cover the cost of fingerprinting. 

     

  • The licensee is responsible for entering all information into the Child Care Background Check (CCBC) System to begin the background check process.  Each person who is put into the CCBC System must complete the Consent and Disclosure form, and provide all necessary information, forms, and fees necessary to complete the comprehensive background check. The steps of the process are outlined in the the Child Care Background Check Process document.

     

  • Sometimes a person may be physically unable to leave the home. If you have someone such as an adult household member who is unable to leave the home, please contact your licensing consultant to request someone to come into the home to fingerprint them. 

     

  • Contact these agencies to start a background check.

    MICHIGAN CRIMINAL HISTORY CHECK

    Begin a Michigan criminal history check by visiting The Michigan State Police (MSP) Internet Criminal History Access Tool (ICHAT) website. Appeals or requests for correction to a MSP Criminal History record must be addressed with MSP.

    Contact:
    Michigan State Police
    7150 Harris Drive
    Dimondale, MI 48821
    517-322-2521

    Email: Visit ICHAT and click on "Contact Us" in the top menu bar.

    Website: ICHAT

    Fees: $10 per search

    Is Michigan a National Fingerprint File (NFF) state? No. Pending NFF 2021.

    Is Michigan a National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact State? Yes.

    MICHIGAN PUBLIC SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY (PSOR)

    Visit Michigan's Public Sex Offender Registry (PSOR) to begin a search. Appeals or requests for correction to a MSP PSOR placement must be addressed with Michigan State Police.

    Contact:
    Michigan State Police
    7150 Harris Drive
    Dimondale, MI 48821
    517-241-1806

    Website: MSP - PSOR

    Fees: None

    MICHIGAN CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT REGISTRY

    Out-of-state entities requesting Central Registry clearances for the reasons outlined in Section IV. Other Out-of-State Entities must complete a Central Registry Clearance Request - DHS-1929 (Word doc) form and send by mail or fax.  A response will be sent within ten working days.

    Appeals or requests for correction or expunction to placement on a Michigan child abuse and neglect registry must be addressed with Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. Directions for how to appeal can be found on the MDHHS - Central Registry page.

    Contact:
    Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
    Children's Protective Services Program
    P.O. Box 30037
    235 South Grand Ave., Suite 510
    Lansing, Michigan 48909
    Phone: 517-335-3704
    Fax: 517-763-0280

    Website: MDHHS - Central Registry Clearance Requests

    Forms: Central Registry Clearance Request - DHS-1929

    Fees: None