Skip to main content

2020-2021 Future Leaders Scholarship recipients announced by Hispanic Latino Commission of Michigan

The Hispanic Latino Commission of Michigan (HLCOM) has selected the recipients of their 2020-2021 Future Leaders Scholarship program, awarding $35,000 in scholarships to 35* higher-education students of Hispanic/Latino descent currently enrolled in a Michigan-based college, university or other recognized higher education institution.

“We are committed to making sure all Michiganders have a pathway to education and economic opportunities that help them reach their full potential,” Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity Acting Director Susan Corbin said. “By providing these opportunities, we are helping these hard-working individuals on their journey to meaningful careers that offer bigger paychecks and long-term economic stability.”

Scholarship recipients from across the state are as follows:

  • Paulo Alcala, Hope College
  • Alondra Alviso, Wayne State University
  • Jairo Arias, Glen Oaks Community College
  • Betzabeth Arredondo, Wayne State University
  • Diana Bernal Carisco, University of Michigan-Dearborn
  • Kirstie Carrasco, Calvin University
  • Cristian Casanova, University of Michigan
  • Melissa Chavez, Western Michigan University
  • Hector David de la Rosa, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
  • Nixon Kevin de León, Grand Rapids Community College
  • Diego Javier Dionne, Grand Valley State University
  • Carlos Paniagua Emiliano, Albion College
  • Joaquin Fernandez, Central Michigan University
  • Celeste Fuentes, University of Detroit Mercy
  • Luz Lozada Gonzalez, Glen Oaks Community College
  • Yolanda Gonzalez, Michigan State University
  • Jocelyn Gonzalez, Michigan State University
  • Guadalupe Guzman, Western Michigan University
  • Yumeri Jimenez, University of Michigan-Dearborn
  • Javier Jimenez, Grand Rapids Community College
  • Rolando Linares, Lansing Community College
  • Allison Rose Fierro Lopez, Central Michigan University
  • Gerardo Lucena, Michigan State University
  • Casandra Aguilar Mena, Washtenaw Community College
  • Amanda Osuna, Michigan State University
  • Rafael Paz, Michigan State University
  • Susana Perez, Lansing Community College
  • Lizette Ramirez, University of Detroit Mercy
  • Rosaura Domínguez Rebollar, Michigan State University
  • Laura Salas, Michigan State University
  • Brian Tejada Sandoval, Grand Rapids Community College
  • Francisco Santos, Michigan State University
  • Omar Augustine Tomas, Ferris State University
  • Francesca Wojda, Michigan State University

Over 160 applications were submitted, and selections were made based on student’s submitted essay, grade point average and community service experience. Each of these students will receive $1,000 in scholarship funding to support their educational attainment goals.

“We had an incredible pool of applicants to choose from, each with an impressive submission,” said Executive Director Felipe Lopez Sustaita, “By supporting their educational goals, we can help equip Hispanic graduates with the skills, knowledge and opportunities they need to succeed in the long-term.”

HLCOM strives to market the state's career development services to Michigan Hispanics, encourage initiatives to reduce the high school dropout rates of Hispanic youth and facilitate efforts to increase the enrollment of Hispanics in postsecondary education and training programs. Learn more about the Commission and their work.

*The name of one of the award recipients was withheld.