Skip to main content

Governor Whitmer Proclaims December as Impaired Driving Prevention Month


December 8, 2020 



Governor Whitmer Proclaims December as Impaired Driving Prevention Month 


LANSING, Mich. -- Governor Gretchen Whitmer proclaimed the month of December as Impaired Driving Prevention month to remember those who lost their lives due to impaired driving and to remind Michiganders that preventing impaired driving deaths and injuries is every driver's responsibility. 


"Every Michigander deserves to drive on our roads safely," said Governor Whitmer. "We all have a personal responsibility to keep one another safe. During this month and beyond, I encourage everyone to protect our families, friends, and neighbors by driving responsibly, and as we continue to fight the COVID-19 pandemic, I urge you to wear a mask, practice social distancing, and wash hands frequently."  


During her first State of the State Address, Governor Whitmer urged the legislature to pass hands-free laws to keep our roads and our kids safe. The legislation was later passed with bipartisan support by the House of Representatives and awaits passage by the Senate.  


The 2019 Michigan Annual Drunk Driving Audit by the Michigan State Police reports 41.9 percent of all fatal crashes that occurred involved alcohol, drugs, or both. According to the Impaired Driving Safety Commission, the total number of statewide crashes has increased by nearly 45 percent and fatal crashes by nearly 60 percent since 2013. The National Association of Drug Court Professionals recognizes December as one of the most dangerous months because of an increase in impaired driving.  


To view the proclamation, click the link below: