Skip to main content

Lansing investigator selected as 2005 Corrections Officer of the Year

Contact: Leo Lalonde, (517) 373-6391

FEBRUARY 18, 2005

Kenneth E. Hatfield, an investigator with the Michigan Department of Corrections (MDOC) Region III Absconder Recovery Unit has been named 2005 Michigan Corrections Officer of the Year.


Training Council. He was chosen from nominees that came from every state prison, camp and community supervision region in the state.=His selection was made yesterday by the State Standards Committee of the Michigan Correctional Officers


 Investigator Hatfield of DeWitt is a nine-year veteran of the corrections department. His absconder recovery unit is part of a regional MDOC team that covers 60 counties in the mid-Michigan area. Prior to becoming an investigator with the unit, he worked as a corrections officer and transportation officer in several correctional facilities where he also served as a member of the Emergency Response Team.


“Investigator Hatfield has been directly involved with the apprehension of some seriously assaultive felons including armed robbers, sex offenders and murderers,” said Field Operations Administration Regional Administrator Noreen Sawatzki. “His outstanding investigative work has helped to make our cities and communities safer for us all.”


Hatfield plays an important role in a sweep operation held in conjunction with law enforcement throughout mid-Michigan. The program rounds up absconders from parole and probation as well as other criminals and takes them off the streets.

In addition to their outstanding service to the department, candidates for the corrections officer honor are judged on the basis of their work ethic, MDOC policy compliance, communications skills and professionalism. Each must provide a positive role model and sound judgment in emergency situations.


The officer of the year was selected from among four other finalists including: Thomas Greenhoe, Ionia Maximum Correctional Facility; Cheryl Masker, Baraga Maximum Correctional Facility; John Mayer, Carson City Correctional Facility and Mike Taylor, Marquette Branch Prison.


Hatfield, as well as all the nominees for the award, will be honored at a banquet on May 4 in East Lansing.