Individual Coverage

  • Individual Coverage

    If you are a Michigan resident without access to a group health plan and are ineligible for the Healthy Michigan Plan, Medicaid or Medicare, you may purchase an individual major medical health plan through a licensed agent, directly from a health insurer, or through the Health Insurance Marketplace (Marketplace). See Shopping for a Health Plan for more information on how to purchase a health plan.

    You are the policyholder on an individual health plan. The plan can cover you and your eligible dependents and cannot deny coverage based on pre-existing conditions.

What You Should Know

What You Should Know
Open Enrollment

The annual open enrollment period provides an opportunity for you to enroll in an individual health plan. Plans may be purchased outside of open enrollment through a special enrollment period under certain qualifying events. To find out which options may be available to you, call DIFS at 877-999-6442.

Required Benefits

Individual policies must include specific minimum health care benefits required by Michigan and federal law. More information regarding these requirements can be found under Required Coverage.

Premiums

The monthly premium is the cost for your health plan and depends on the following:

  • The type of plan chosen

  • Your age

  • Where you live

  • The number of eligible dependents covered under your plan

  • Tobacco use

Premiums may increase each plan year to reflect the increasing cost of health care.

Healthy Michigan Plan

If you are uninsured and looking for coverage, you may be eligible for the Healthy Michigan Plan. Individuals may be eligible for the Healthy Michigan Plan if they:

  • Are age 19-64 years.

  • Do not qualify for Medicaid.

  • Are ineligible for or enrolled in Medicare.

  • Are not pregnant when applying for the Healthy Michigan Plan.

  • Earn up to 133 percent of the federal poverty level (adjusted annually).

  • Are residents of Michigan.

Beginning January 1, 2020, Healthy Michigan recipients with a household income between the federal poverty level and income 33% above the federal poverty level will be required to:

  • Work.

  • Look for work.

  • Volunteer, or be in training or school, for 80 hours each month.

Unless otherwise exempt, recipients may risk losing their benefits. Visit http://www.healthymichiganplan.org/ or call 855-789-5610 for more information.

  • HICAP Survey Information

    We want to hear from you:
    Give Feedback