The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Long-Term Care Training Requirement FAQ
Public Act 198 amended the requirements for producers who sell, solicit, or negotiate long-term care insurance. These individuals must be licensed as accident and health or life producers; complete a one-time long-term care training course; and complete ongoing long-term care training for every two-year CE compliance period thereafter.
The Act identifies the topics courses must cover to meet the long-term care training requirements. Although the long-term care training requirements are not CE requirements, licensees may receive CE credit by taking a CE course identified as an LTC - Partnership course. CE courses identified as LTC-Partnership meet the training requirements of Public Act 198. Insurers shall verify that their producers have completed the long-term care training course before allowing the producer to sell, solicit, or negotiate long-term care insurance products for that insurer.
Frequently Asked Questions
What are the requirements for insurance producers to sell long-term care insurance in MichiganPursuant to MCL 500.1204f, producers who sell, solicit, or negotiate long-term care insurance MUST have an active insurance producer license for accident and health or life, complete a one-time, 8-hour LTC - Partnership training course, and complete ongoing training of not less than 4 hours for every two-year CE compliance period after completing the one-time training course.
Does the long-term care training apply only to resident producers?The long-term care training requirements apply to all producers, whether resident or non-resident. Satisfying the training requirements of Public Act 198 in any state satisfies the training requirements in this state.
Are the long-term care training requirements considered continuing education (CE) requirements?No; these are training requirements for selling, soliciting, or negotiating long-term care insurance. Resident producers who take an approved LTC - Partnership CE course may use the credits to satisfy their overall CE requirements.
If a producer completed a Long-Term Care continuing education (CE) course in Michigan prior to the amended law, does the course satisfy the amended law training requirements?Public Act 198 changed the topic requirements and added a specific number of hours for each type of training course (one-time and ongoing).
To meet both the long-term care training and CE requirements, education providers will have an opportunity to have their existing courses re-reviewed if they believe their course content meets the new training requirements. Current long-term care courses meeting the new requirements will be reclassified with the LTC - Partnership designation and will satisfy the amended law training requirements, allowing individuals to dually meet their training and CE obligations.
Current long-term care courses not meeting the new requirements will remain classified as Long-Term Care. This means the course does not meet the new requirements and a producer is not compliant with the training requirements of Public Act 198.
What topics must be covered by a long-term care training course?The topics are set out in Public Act 198 and shall include, but are not limited to, all of the following:
- State and federal regulations and requirements and the relationship between qualified state long-term care insurance partnership programs and other public and private coverage of long-term care services, including Medicaid.
- Available long-term care services and providers.
- Changes or improvements in long-term care services or providers.
- Alternatives to the purchase of private long-term care insurance.
- The effect of inflation in eroding the value of benefits and the importance of inflation protection.
- Consumer suitability standards and guidelines.
The one-time long-term care training course and ongoing training required must not include any training that is solely oriented to the sales or marketing of an insurer-specific long-term care product.
What responsibilities are required of an insurer that delivers or issues LTC in Michigan?Insurers shall verify that their producers have completed the long-term care training before allowing the producer to sell, solicit, or negotiate long-term care insurance products for that insurer. It is the insurer's responsibility to verify the producer has completed the training upon request by the Director of DIFS.
Does a producer need to keep a certificate of completion for each training course?Yes. The producer may be asked by the insurer to provide a certificate of completion for each training course in order to satisfy the insurer's responsibility under this regulation to obtain the certificate of completion. The Department of Insurance and Financial Services will not track completion of training courses for producers.
Where can I find a list of approved long-term care training courses
DIFS-approved CE courses that meet the long-term care training requirements, as well as CE requirements, will be identified as course type LTC - Partnership.
DIFS posts this information in a searchable format on the Insurance Education - Search for Providers, Courses, Offerings, and Instructors webpage.
- Click on the Providers and Courses button.
- Under Additional Options, select LTC - Partnership and click Search to display the list of courses.
- Courses approved as type “LTC - Partnership” meet Michigan’s requirements for an LTC program of study.
- Courses are available in classroom as well as self-study or online formats.