New Law Means New Tools for People Who Use Service Animals

dark blue background, for color, includes dog and miniature horse, words Registered Service Animal
  • If you are a person with a disability who uses a trained service animal in Michigan, the State of Michigan now offers two new tools to help ensure you won't be denied access to businesses, schools and other public accommodations.

    Register your service animal with the State of Michigan and you'll receive an official Registered Service Animal identification card for you, and a big, bold patch for your service animal. Registration is voluntary and there is no charge for this service.

    For more information call 517-241-1344 or email


  • Attention Applicants:

    As of March 2, 2018, our voluntary service animal identification application was updated. Applications notarized prior to this date will be accepted. Those notarized after March 2 must be redone using the new application. Outdated applications will be returned.

    Please contact the MDCR Service Animal Registry at or 517-241-1344 with questions or concerns. 

  • Before you Apply:

    Please check your eligibility for MDCR’s Voluntary Service Animal Identification Program by using the following criteria:

    1. The applicant listed has a disability for which a service animal is required.
    2. The service provided by the animal is not emotional support, companionship, therapy for others, and/or crime deterrence.
    3. The animal is fully trained, not a service animal-in-training.
    4. The animal is housebroken.
    5. The animal can be kept under their handler’s control at all times.

    Be advised, those who register and/or represent an unqualified animal as a service animal or service animal-in-training are guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by one or more of the following:

    • Imprisonment for not more than 90 days.
    • A fine of not more than $500.00.
    • Community service for not more than 30 days.
  • Registered Service Animal Application - New PDF icon
  • Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) PDF icon

    These FAQs are a general guide for those with questions about the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and the Michigan Service Animal legislation that took effect January 18, 2016.