Notification of Criminal or Administrative Violation
Insurance producers - individuals and business entities (agencies) - are required to provide notification to DIFS of the following violations:
Section 500.1247(1) of the Michigan Insurance Code, MCL 500.1247(1), requires licensees to notify DIFS within 30 days following the final disposition of an administrative action taken against the producer in another jurisdiction or by another governmental agency. The licensee must include a written statement, as well as a copy of the order, consent to order, or other relevant legal documents.
Section 1247(2) of the Michigan Insurance Code, MCL 500.1247(2), requires licensees to notify DIFS within 30 days after the initial pretrial hearing date. The licensee must include a written statement, as well as a copy of the initial complaint filed, the order resulting from the hearing, and any other relevant legal documents.
In both cases, if not reported within the specified timeframe, the licensee is subject to fines as listed in Section 1244 of the Michigan Insurance Code, MCL 500.1244.
Licensees can submit their written statement and documentation by:
- Using the Attachment Warehouse - Reporting of Actions, through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) website at www.nipr.com. *Note: Submitting documentation through the Attachment Warehouse will provide notification to all states in which you are licensed.*
- Faxing documentation to the Insurance Licensing Section at 517-284-8836.
- Submitting documentation via US Mail to:
DIFS Insurance Licensing Section
PO Box 30220
Lansing MI 48909-7720