Skip to main content

TAMC Meeting Minutes October 4, 2023


October 4, 2023, at 1:00 p.m.


Members Present

  • Joanna Johnson, County Road Association (CRA) – Chair
  • Bill McEntee, County Road Association (CRA) – Vice-Chair
  • Robert Slattery, Michigan Municipal League (MML)
  • Jennifer Tubbs, Michigan Townships Association (MTA)
  • Rob Surber, Department of Technology, Management and Budget (DTMB)/Center for Shared Solutions (CSS)
  • James Hurt, MML
  • Kelly Jones, Michigan Association of Counties (MAC) Lansing, MI – (Virtual)
  • Ryan Buck, Michigan Transportation Planning Association (MTPA)
  • Art Green, Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT)
  • Eric Mullen, Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT)

Members Absent

  • Jacob Hurt, Michigan Association of Regions (MAR)

TAMC Coordinator

  • Sarah Plumer, Hubbell, Roth, and Clark (HRC)

Others Present

  • Tim Colling, MTU/Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP) (Virtual)
  • Mark Holmes, DTMB (Virtual)
  • Dave Jennett, MDOT (Virtual)
  • Gloria Strong, MDOT
  • Brad Sharlow, MDOT
  • Cheryl Granger, DTMB/CSS
  • Mike Toth, MDOT (Virtual)
  • Heather Hoeve, MDOT (Virtual)
  • Nathan Hamilton, MIC (Virtual)


  1. Michigan Infrastructure Council (MIC) Updates by Nathan Hamilton, Manager of Planning, Outreach and Training
    1. N. Hamilton gave an update on many of the efforts MIC is leading: Annual Report, AM Champions Program, Project Portal, 30-year Strategy and their support of the TAMC to have the IRT migrated into version 3. It was determined that the TAMC will work with MIC to organize a Joint MIC/TAMC/WAMC Conference in 2024.
  2. Financial Update and Budget Discussion
    1. J. Johnson and B. Sharlow introduced the item explaining to the Council that there will be a balance available to the TAMC for the work project requested through the budget office. The Council discussed various items that would appropriately utilize the funding available to best meet statewide asset management needs.The council directed the TAMC Coordinator to provide an analysis of transportation asset data, regional expenditures analysis, as well as the status of TAMP submittals. It was determined that providing this information at the next meeting will help guide the Council in deciding on the best way to utilize the funding in FY2024.
  3. Consent Agenda
    1. K. Jones made a motion to approve the consent agenda items and B. Slattery seconded the motion to approve the consent agenda items as presented in the packet.
    2. The motion was approved by all members present.
  4. 2024 – 2026 TAMC Strategic Work Program
    1. S. Plumer explained the draft copy of the 3-year program was included in the packet as an informational item. The document will be moving through the committee meetings in October and will be brought back to the council in November for consideration and action.
  5. Discussion and Election of Officers
    1. Chair and Vice-Chair
      1. J. Johnson presented the section of the bylaws relating to Chair and Vice-Chair terms and elections. She inquired if there were any individuals on the council that would like to nominate themselves or another member as Chair or Vice-Chair and opened the floor for discussion.
      2. J. Tubbs made a motion to re-elect J. Johnson and B. McEntee for another term and Kelly J. seconded the motion.
      3. The motion was approved by all members present.
  6. Conference Recap
  7. Adjournment
    1. The meeting was adjourned at 2:54 p.m.