Skip to main content

Michigan Promise Zone Designations

The Michigan Department of Treasury has certified "Promise Zone" designations for the following school districts and communities:

Beginning [at 12:01 a.m. on] October 16, 2023, the Michigan Department of Treasury will begin accepting applications for up to two (2) Promise Zone designations pursuant to Section 4 of Public Act 549 of 2008.  Applications will be reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis with the first two complete applications, as determined by Treasury, receiving certification.

Governing bodies should email their complete applications or any questions to

Michigan Promise Zone Authority Act, Act 549 of 2008


  • Baldwin Community Schools 
  • Battle Creek Public Schools 
  • Benton Harbor Area Schools 
  • City of Detroit 
  • City of Flint
  • Grand Rapids Public School District 
  • School District of the City of Hazel Park 
  • Lansing School District
  • Mason County 
  • Muskegon Area Intermediate School District 
  • Newaygo County
  • School District of the City of Pontiac 
  • Saginaw School District