Skip to main content

Detroit FRC City Meeting Minutes February 27, 2023

Detroit Financial Review Commission


Monday, February 27, 2023, at 1:00 p.m.

Remotely Using Microsoft Teams


Approved: April 17, 2023


  1. Call to Order
    1. Chairman, Kevin Smith called the meeting to order at 1:03 p.m.
  2. Roll Call
    1. Let the record show that six (6) commission members were present. A quorum was present.
  3. Approval of the Proposed Minutes from the January 30, 2023, Regular City Meeting
    1. Motion made by commissioner Nicholson and seconded by commissioner Walsh, to approve the draft minutes of the commission’s January 20, 2023, city meeting as presented. Motion moved and supported; the commission approved the minutes of the above city meeting as presented.
  4. Executive Director’s Report
    1. Patrick Dostine, Executive Director, informed the meeting that in reviewing the city’s monthly report ending December 31, 2022, the city continues to pay its debt obligations, remains in compliance, and there is no reason to consider rescinding the waiver at this time.
    2. Mr. Dostine reported a new date was set, March 15, 2023, at 2 pm, for the city’s motion to enforce the POA and a 30-year amortization. He further reported that the city held its February Estimating Conference and that the principals unanimously adopted the city’s revenue estimates for the Four-Year Financial Plan (2024-2027). Lastly, Mr. Dostine reported that the mayor would be delivering the FY 24 budget to council on Friday, March 3.
  5. Old Business
    1. None
  6. New Business
    1. None
  7. Public Comment
    1. None
  8. Next Meeting Date
    1. City Regular Meeting: Monday, March 27, 2023, at 1:00 p.m., using Microsoft Teams.
  9. Adjournment
    1. Motion made by Commissioner Peterson-Mayberry and supported by Commissioner Walsh to adjourn. The commission approved the motion to adjourn.
    2. There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 1:10 p.m.

Roll Call:

Members Present – 6

  • David Nicholson
  • Angelique Peterson-Mayberry(non-voting)
  • Jay Rising
  • Kevin Smith
  • Jeremy Vidito (non-voting)
  • John Walsh

Members Absent –4

  • Dr. J. Barnwell
  • Chris Harkins
  • Ron RoseMary Sheffield