Skip to main content

Detroit FRC School District Meeting Minutes August 29 2022

Detroit Financial Review Commission


Monday, August 29, 2022

Following the City’s Regular Meeting

(Begins no earlier than 1:05 p.m.)

Using Microsoft Teams


Approved: October 31, 2022


  1. Call to Order
    1. Chairwoman, Rachael Eubanks called the meeting to order at 1:12 p.m.
  2. Roll Call
    1. Let the record show that seven (7) Commission members eligible to vote on matters relating to DPSCD were present. A quorum was present.
  3. Approval of proposed Minutes from the FRC’s July 25, 2022, School District Monthly Meeting
    1. Motion made by Commissioner Peterson-Mayberry and supported by Commissioner Harkins to approve the draft minutes of the Commission’s July 25, 2022, School District Meeting. The Commission unanimously approved the minutes of the July 25, 2022, meeting as presented.
  4. Executive Director’s Report
    1. Patrick Dostine, Executive Director, informed the meeting that in reviewing the monthly financial reports for DPS and DPSCD, for the month ending June 30, 2022, the School District continues to pay its debt obligations, remains in compliance, and there is no reason to consider rescinding the waivers at this time.
  5. Old Business
    1. None
  6. New Business
    1. Presentation – Student Achievement
      1. Dr. Vitti made the presentation, which included Student Average Daily attendance; Chronic Absenteeism; student growth in reading and math; and projected graduation rate. He addressed questions from the commissioners.
  7. Public Comment
    1. None
  8. Next Meeting Date
  9. Adjournment
    1. Motion made by Commissioner Peterson-Mayberry and supported by Commissioner Rose to adjourn. The Commission approved the motion to adjourn.
    2. There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 1:40 p.m.

Roll Call:

Members Present – 8

  • Dr. Barnwell
  • Rachael Eubanks
  • Chris Harkins
  • David Nicholson
  • Ms. Peterson-Mayberry
  • Jay Rising (non-voting on DPSCD matters)
  • Ron Rose
  • Jeremy Vidito

Members Absent – 2

  • Mary Sheffield (non-voting on DPSCD matters)
  • John Walsh