The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
2001-11 Concealed Pistol Permits Public Act 381 of 2000
July 16, 2001
To: County Treasurers, Sheriffs, Prosecuting Attorneys, County Clerks, County Administrators, Controllers, Managers, and State Police
From: Richard L. Baldermann, CPA, CGFM Administrator Local Audit and Finance Division
RE: Accounting for Concealed Pistol Permits under Public Act 381 of 2000
A draft of this letter was faxed to the County Clerk’s offices on July 2, 2001 to show how to account for the funds. This letter is the final version, which includes a $39 fingerprinting fee for renewal applications payable to the State Police that was not included in the draft version.
Public Act 381 of 2000 takes effect July 1, 2001. This law creates a standardized system for issuing concealed pistol licenses. The act provides criteria for the issuance of a concealed pistol permit, prescribes rights and responsibilities to those persons who have been issued a permit and provides for an appeal process to individuals denied a permit. Fees collected for concealed pistol permits have been changed.
The fees collected under the Act (effective July 1, 2001) are as follows:
|For New Applications||For Renewals|
Counties shall account for the fees collected as follows:
- New Application Processing Fees:
- Under PA 381 (MCL 28.425b) a total of $60 is collected for each new application fee. In addition, the Sheriff may collect up to $15 for the "actual and reasonable costs of taking the fingerprints."
- Use the account titled "Due State of Michigan--Pistol Permits," account number 228.16 in the General Agency Fund (formerly the "Trust and Agency Fund") No. 701, to account for the $50 due to the State Police. The $50 fee due to the State Police includes a new application fee ($45) and weapons enforcement fund fee ($5).
- Please note that this account number is in your "Uniform Chart of Accounts for Counties and Local Units of Government in Michigan," dated January 1984 and used in your accounting system as "Pistol Permits."
- A check should be written no later than the 15th of each month payable to "State of Michigan" for the new application fees. The amount remitted should be $50 for each new application received during the previous month.
- The check shall accompany form ADM-16 (sample attached). The form and check will be mailed to State Police for deposit with the Department of Treasury. The form will be available on the State Police Internet site (http://www.michigan.gov/msp) at a later date. The form includes remittance instructions and the mailing address.
- The balance of $10 of the $60 application and assessment fees remains with the county and should be accounted for in the general fund to the credit of the clerk as revenue between account numbers 477 to 500 as "Licenses and Permits--Pistol Permits. " (See "note" under Renewal Fees below).
- Note: If the county desires or needs detailed classification to separate the original application fee revenue from the renewal revenue; assign open sub-accounts .01 through .99 for the original fee amount and the renewal license fee amount.
Please call (517) 373-3227 or write our office if you have any questions related to the accounting for the fees. Any other questions should be directed to David Turner, Michigan State Police at (517) 322-1658.
Local Audit and Finance Division
P.O. Box 30728
Lansing, Michigan 48909-8228