- Introduction to Benefits
- New Employee Benefits Checklist
- Michigan State Police New Employee Benefits Checklist
- CY21 Benefit Summary Brochure
- 20-21 Benefits Summary Brochure
- 19-20 Benefit Summary Brochure
- Eligibility/Required Documentation
- Interactive Plan Comparison
- Health Insurance Marketplace Info
Automobile No-Fault Insurance Changes: Prior to July 2, 2020, Michigan’s Automobile No-Fault Insurance Law required individuals to purchase unlimited Personal Injury Protection (PIP) through their auto insurer. PIP pays for services that health insurance may or may not cover. For auto insurance policies issued or renewed after July 1, 2020, Michigan's Automobile No-Fault Insurance Law will change. Under the new legislation, residents may select different levels of PIP coverage. Contact your auto insurance carrier for specific questions regarding PIP coverage.
State-sponsored health insurance carriers are prepared to send a letter to State employees or retirees, upon request, confirming their health plan is considered Qualified Health Coverage (QHC)*. A plan is considered QHC if coverage for motor vehicle accidents is not excluded and the annual deductible is $6,000 or less per covered individual. If your auto insurance is requesting a QHC letter to issue or renew a policy, you may request a QHC letter by contacting your health carrier. For more info, visit www.mi.gov/AutoInsurance, email AutoInsurance@mi.gov, or call 833-ASK-DIFS (275-3437).
*The Catastrophic Health plan is not considered QHC.
Midwestern Dental has ceased operations and all enrolled employees have been automatically transferred to the State Dental Plan, effective May 30, 2020. Employees had until June 30, 2020 to waive or elect different dental coverage by contacting MI HR Service Center at 877-766-6447.
COVID-19 Insurance Carrier Response: As part of the COVID-19 response, State of Michigan insurance plan carriers are providing additional resources and benefits for enrolled employees. For information on telemedicine visits, copays, prescription refills, and individual FAQ pages, view the Carrier COVID-19 Response Guide and the Telemedicine Benefit Summary.
FSA Run-Out Period: Because of the ongoing declared national emergency for the COVID-19 pandemic, the run-out period deadline to submit new claims and claim substantiations to WageWorks for eligible expenses incurred between 1/1/20 - 12/31/20 has been extended. The extended due date is now 60 days after the end of the national emergency (once determined). Visit ww.mi.gov/fsa for more info.
New Medicare Advantage Plan for Medicare Eligible Retirees: The State Health Plan PPO moved to an MA plan from the Medicare Supplemental plan, effective January 1, 2020**. Additional information and resources can be found on the Retiree Information page.
**These changes do not apply to State Police Troopers and Sergeants who retired on or after October 1, 1987.