Skip to main content

Michigan Competitive Scholarship

The Michigan Competitive Scholarship is available to undergraduate students pursuing their first degree and is based on both financial need and merit. To be considered, a student must take the SAT (Class of 2017 and beyond) prior to entering college and achieve a qualifying score of at least 1200.


  • Student must provide their Social Security number to MI Student Aid by their senior year in high school.
  • Achieve a qualifying SAT score of at least 1200 prior to entering college.
    • Prior to the Class of 2017, eligible applicants must have achieved a qualifying ACT score of at least 23 (composite) or 90 (scaled score) prior to entering college.
  • Possess a high school diploma or its recognized equivalent.
  • Demonstrate financial need.
  • Enroll at least half-time.
  • Be a Michigan resident since July 1 of the previous calendar year. If a dependent student, parent must also be a Michigan resident since July 1 of the previous calendar year.
  • Be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident, or approved refugee.
  • Not be incarcerated.
  • For renewal, maintain a minimum cumulative Grade Point Average (GPA) of 2.0.
  • For renewal, must meet institution’s Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) policy.
  • Not be in default on a Federal student loan.

Application Process

Applicants must file the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) by May 1.

The first institution listed on the FAFSA will be considered the priority school. Students are responsible for notifying MI Student Aid of a change in their college choice. This can be done through the MiSSG Student Portal or by calling 1-888-447-2687.

Program Limits

Program eligibility ends when a student has received a baccalaureate degree, after completing the equivalent of ten semesters (or term equivalent), or when a student has been out of high school over ten years, whichever occurs first. Future awards are subject to available and approved funding.

Participating Institutions

Michigan community college, public university, or degree-granting, non-profit independent college (cannot be an institution whose primary purpose is to prepare students for ordination or appointment as a member of the clergy of a church, denomination, or religious sect).

Award Amount

Awards are restricted to tuition and mandatory fees. Awards pay up to a maximum of $1,500 per academic year.

Additional Resources

Fact Sheet

Find the program details for financial aid professionals.
Public Act 208 of 1964