Skip to main content

Value Added Programs and Services (VAPS) in Michigan

Value-added programs and services mean programs and services that are utility or energy related, including, but not limited to, home comfort and protection, appliance service, building energy performance, alternative energy options, or engineering and construction services.  Value-added programs and services do not include energy optimization or energy waste reduction programs paid for by utility customers as part of the regulated rates.

This page provides a VAPS status for all utilities and cooperatives within the state of Michigan.  If you wish to inquire about a value-added program or service, contact the provider listed below or follow the links to their website.

Investor-Owned Utilities

Utility Name and Address

Code of Conduct Contact

VAPS Offered

Most Recent Dates of Data Provided by Regulated Utility to VAPS

Consumers Energy Company

1 Energy Plaza
Jackson, MI 49201-2276

Laura Kuhl

517-788-0138

laura.kuhl@cmsenergy.com

Appliance Service Plan (ASP)

July 17, 2020

Appliance Repair Non-ASP

None Reported

Customer Requested Fuel Lines

None Reported

Allconnect Mover Program

None Reported

Business Customer Technical Services (BCTS)

None Reported

Gas Transportation & Storage Third Party Services (Gas T & S)

None Reported

Underground Customer-Owned Fuel Line Maintenance Contracts

None Reported

Laboratory Services

None Reported

Citizens Gas Fuel Company

127 North Main Street
Adrian, MI 4922

1

Joe Lucey

517-264-4487

Joseph.lucey@dteenergy.com

Home Smart and Jobbing (ASP)

April 22, 2022

Bayfield Electric Coop

P.O. Box 68

Iron River, WI 54847

Sara Anderson

715-372-4287

sara.anderson@bayfieldelectric.com


No VAPS Offered

NA

DTE Electric Company

1 Energy Plaza
Detroit, MI 48226

Nicholas Chuey

313-235-5569

Nicholas.chuey@dteenergy.com

Tree Guard Assurance

April 29, 2021

Load Watch - Energy Monitoring Service

None Reported

Surge Protection None Reported
Decorative Post Lamps None Reported
Home EV Charger Installation None Reported

DTE Gas

1 Energy Plaza
Detroit, MI 48226

Nicholas Chuey

313-235-5569

Nicholas.chuey@dteenergy.com

Home Protection Plus

Furnace Filter Subscription Service

January 28, 2020

Whole Home Generators None Reported

SEMCO Energy Gas Company

1411 Third Street Suite A
Port Huron, MI 48060

Roxann Zmolik

810-887-3084

Roxann.zmolik@semcoenergy.com

HomeServe USA

August 11, 2023

Carbon Offset None Reported

Indiana Michigan Power Company

P.O. Box 60
Fort Wayne, IN 46801

Bryan Owens

260-408-3680

bsowens@aep.com

Home Warranty - Home Service Plan Provider

January 28, 2020

(Bi-Monthly)

Allconnect Move Related Services (Phone, Internet, cable…)

January 28, 2020

Upper Michigan Energy Resources Corp (UMERC)

231 West Michigan St.
Milwaukee, WI 53290

Richard Stasik

414-221-3685

richard.stasik@wecenergygroup.com

No VAPS Offered

NA

Upper Peninsula Power Company

1002 Harbor Hills Drive
Marquette, MI 49855

Jim Larsen

906-232-1400

jlarson@uppco.com

No VAPS Offered

NA

Xcel Energy - Northern State Power Company-Wisconsin

1414 West Hamilton, P.O. Box 8,
Eau Claire, MI 54702

Deborah Erwin

608-280-7311

Deborah.e.erwin@xcelenergy.com

No VAPS Offered

NA

Alpena Power Company

401 N. Ninth Avenue
Alpena, MI 49707

Gary D. Graham, P.E.

989-358-4951

gdg@alpenapower.com

No VAPS Offered

NA

Michigan Gas Utilities

899 S. Telegraph
Monroe, MI 48161

Shannon Burzycki

734-457-6111

Shannon.burzycki@wecenergygroup.com

No VAPS Offered

NA

Superior Energy Company

11690 Chippewa Highway

Bear Lake, MI 49614

Marc Hearit

hearit@secnaturalgas.com

231-362-2520

No VAPS Offered

NA

 

Cooperatives

Utility Name and Address

Code of Conduct Contact

VAPS Offered

Most Recent Date of Data Sharing

Alger Delta Cooperative Electric Association

426 N. 9th St.
Gladstone, MI 49837

Tom Harrell

906-428-4141
Tharrell@algerdelta.com

No VAPS Offered

NA

Thumb Electric Cooperative

2231 Main St.
Ubly, MI 48475

Brad Essenmacher

989-658-8571 ext. 215
Bessenmacher@tecmi.coop

Surge Protection

None Reported

Great Lakes Energy

1323 Boyne Ave
P.O. Box 70
Boyne City, MI 49712

Dawn Burks

231-487-1312
dburks@glenergy.com

No VAPS Offered

NA

Ontonagon County Rural Electric

500 James K Paul St.
Ontonagon, MI 49953

Debbie Miles

906-884-4151
debbie@ontorea.com

No VAPS Offered

NA

Cloverland Electric Cooperative

725 E. Portage
Avenue, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783

Cory Wilson

906-632-5193
cwilson@cloverland.com

No VAPS Offered

NA

HomeWorks Tri-County Electric Cooperative

7973 E. Grand River Avenue
Portland, MI 48875

Pat Simmer

517-647-7554
psimmer@homeworks.org

No VAPS Offered

NA

Midwest Energy Cooperative

60590 Decatur Rd.
Cassopolis, MI 49031

Todd Crandall

269-445-1028
Todd.crandall@teammidwest.com

No VAPS Offered

NA

Presque Isle Electric & Gas Cooperative

19831 M68 Highway
P.O. Box 308
Onaway, MI 49765

Thomas Sobek

989-733-8515 ext. 1000
tsobeck@pieg.com

No VAPS Offered

NA

Cherryland Electric Cooperative

5930 US 31 S
PO Box 298
Grawn, MI 49637

Mark Wilson

231-486-9246
mwilson@cherrylandelectric.coop

No VAPS Offered

NA

 

If you experience difficulties obtaining information from one of the utilities listed above, please contact Kirk Forbes at the Michigan Public Service Commission for assistance at forbesk@michigan.gov or via telephone at 517-284-8117.