The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Marijuana Educational Videos
Please select one of the tabs below to view the description and press play to view.
Adult-Use Marijuana in Michigan
In 2018, Michigan voters updated state law to make marijuana legal under state and local law for adults 21 years of age or older, to make industrial hemp legal under state and local law, and to control the commercial production and distribution of marijuana under a system that licenses, regulates, and taxes the businesses involved. This law also allows the personal possession and use of marijuana by persons 21 years of age or older and provides for the lawful cultivation of marijuana and industrial hemp by persons 21 years of age or older:
The Cannabis Regulatory Agency (CRA) regulates the state's adult-use marijuana establishments and licensees in accordance with the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act (MRTMA) and its associated administrative rules.
Medical Marijuana in Michigan
In 2016, Michigan's legislature passed a law to license and regulate the medical marijuana industry and allow commercial marijuana transactions:
The Cannabis Regulatory Agency (MRA) regulates the state's medical marijuana facilities and licensees in accordance with the Medical Marihuana Facilities Licensing Act (MMFLA) and its associated administrative rules.
Patients/Caregivers in Michigan
In 2008, Michigan voters updated state law to allow the medical use of marijuana, to provide protections for the medical use of marijuana, and to provide for a system of registry identification cards for qualifying patients and primary caregivers:
The Michigan Medical Marijuana Program (MMMP) is a state registry program within the Cannabis Regulatory Agency. The program administers the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act as approved by Michigan voters (2008).