The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Michigan's New Auto Insurance Law Goes Into Effect; Consumers Encouraged to Shop Around
July 02, 2020
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: July 2, 2020
LANSING, MICH. - New choices are now available to Michigan drivers under Michigan’s historic bipartisan auto insurance reform law, which Governor Gretchen Whitmer signed into law in 2019 and goes into effect today.
“Choice is finally here for Michigan drivers,” said Governor Whitmer. “I’m proud that drivers will now have auto insurance options to better fit their insurance needs and budgets.”
In May 2019, Governor Whitmer signed auto no-fault legislation to lower costs for Michigan drivers, maintain the highest coverage options in the country, and strengthen consumer protections. These changes apply to auto insurance policies issued or renewed beginning today. The new law:
Offers drivers new choices on the amount of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) medical coverage they purchase.
Mandates statewide average savings for PIP medical premiums for 8 years.
Establishes new consumer protections, including prohibiting insurers from using certain non-driving factors when setting auto insurance rates.
Allows uninsured drivers to get coverage without penalty for the next 18 months.
“For decades, Detroit drivers have been forced to pay the most expensive car insurance rates in the nation, but that changes today,” said Lt. Gov. Garlin Gilchrist II. “This new law guarantees average statewide savings for drivers and adds protections against discrimination, which is why all Michiganders should review the options available to them before making the important decision of choosing their auto insurance coverages.”
“Michigan has a competitive auto insurance market with more than 100 companies writing policies, so consumers may benefit by getting multiple quotes before renewing or selecting a new policy,” said Department of Insurance and Financial Services (DIFS) Director Anita Fox. “DIFS is available to support consumers who have questions, concerns or complaints about their auto insurance. Drivers should also be aware that if they do not wish to wait for their renewal date on their existing policy to make changes to their coverage, they can contact an insurance agent or company to learn about the options available to them.”
Educational resources, sample forms, instructional videos and a schedule of virtual town hall events are available for drivers to learn more about the new law at Michigan.gov/autoinsurance. In addition, DIFS continues to operate its dedicated, no-fault hotline with calls being answered Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Drivers can call 833-ASK-DIFS (275-3437) or email firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.