MI Student Aid
The Children of Veterans Tuition Grant provides undergraduate tuition assistance to students older than 16 and less than 26 years of age who are the natural or adopted child of a Michigan veteran. The veteran must have died or became totally and permanently disabled as a result of military service.
Dual Enrollment allows students to begin taking free dual enrollment classes in the 9th grade and continue to take up to ten dual enrollment courses overall in grades 9-12. The Michigan Department of Education (MDE) administers the Dual Enrollment Program.
Private school students must first get a signed letter of eligibility from their principal to participate in the program. MDE works with MI Student Aid who is responsible for sending payments to the college for each eligible private school student.
Futures for Frontliners (F4F) is a State of Michigan scholarship program for frontline workers; Michiganders who worked in essential industries during the state COVID-19 shutdown in spring 2020. F4F provides a pathway for tuition-free access to public community colleges to earn an associate degree or an industry recognized certificate for frontline workers without a college degree.
The Michigan Competitive Scholarship is available to undergraduate students pursuing their first degree and is based on both financial need and merit. To be considered, a student must take the SAT (Class of 2017 and beyond) prior to entering college and achieve a qualifying score of at least 1200.
Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Programs (GEAR UP) is a Federal program designed to provide early intervention services and programs to students in middle school and high school. Michigan GEAR UP (MI GEAR UP) targets low-income students by providing them with support services to increase their opportunity to succeed in postsecondary education.
Michigan Reconnect is a scholarship program that pays for students 25 and older to attend their in-district community college and offers a large tuition discount if students attend an out-of-district community college. Students can use the scholarship to complete an associate degree or a skill certificate program.
The Police Officer’s and Fire Fighter’s Survivor Tuition Act provides for the waiver of tuition at a Michigan community college or public university for children and surviving spouses of Michigan police officers and fire fighters killed in the line of duty. The program is intended to provide an educational benefit to the spouse and children of police officers and fire fighters who made the ultimate sacrifice for their communities and the citizens of Michigan.
The Tuition Incentive Program encourages students to complete high school by providing college tuition assistance after graduation. Eligible students are those who have or have had Medicaid coverage for 24 months within a 36 month period as identified by the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS).