Skip to main content

Michigan State Police Trooper Charged with Domestic Violence Found Guilty on Four of Five Counts

LANSING – A Michigan State Police Trooper charged with assaulting a fellow female colleague was found guilty late Thursday on four assault-related charges, Michigan Attorney General Dana Nessel announced today.

Following a criminal investigation conducted by the Michigan State Police, Adam Mullin, 25, of Millington, was charged in February and subsequently convicted of the following:

  • One felony count of Obstruction of Justice, punishable by up to five years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine;
  • One felony count of Obstructing a Police Officer Causing Injury, punishable by up to four years in prison and/or a $5,000 fine;
  • One misdemeanor count of Aggravated Domestic Violence, punishable by up to one year in jail and/or a $1,000 fine; and
  • One misdemeanor count of Assault and Battery, punishable by up to 93 days in jail and/or a $500 fine.

A felony count of Misconduct in Office did not go to the jury for consideration as a result of Huron County Circuit Court Judge Gerald M. Prill’s directed verdict on that count.  

“Domestic violence is a serious matter and we are steadfast in holding those who commit these acts accountable – law enforcement and civilians alike,” Nessel said. “It is serendipitous that this verdict comes during National Domestic Violence Awareness Month and it reminds us of the work that still remains to end this epidemic in our state and nation.”

“The Michigan State Police appreciates the careful deliberation of the men and women of the jury and we are grateful to the Michigan Attorney General’s Office for their dedication to justice,” stated Col. Joe Gasper, director of the Michigan State Police. “The defendant, Adam Mullin, has been on unpaid suspension since his arrest on Feb. 12, 2019, and today, following his criminal conviction in a court of law, the department moved to permanently revoke his law enforcement certification and terminate his employment.”

Mullin’s sentencing is set for Monday, Dec. 2, before Judge Prill.

In 2018, Michigan State Police’s Incident Crime Report indicated that there were 48,264 domestic violence offenses reported to Michigan law enforcement.

For more information and available resources on domestic violence, visit the Michigan Department of Health and Service's domestic violence website.