Skip to main content

AG Nessel Supports Benefits for Public Safety Officers, Families Affected by Work-related PTSD

LANSING – Michigan Attorney General Dana Nessel, along with a bipartisan coalition of 53 attorneys general, is urging Congress to pass The Public Safety Officer Support Act of 2022. The legislation addresses gaps in support for public safety officers who suffer from post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) associated with the high-risk nature of their jobs. 

In the letter, the attorneys general praise the work of public safety officers including police, firefighters, and emergency medical technicians who respond to stressful and potentially traumatic situations. Compared to the general public, they are 25.6 times more likely to develop PTSD and research shows those suffering from PTSD are at increased risk of suicide. 

“This legislation provides vital support for officers and their families suffering from trauma experienced in the line of duty,” Nessel said. “Those who protect and serve deserve to know help is available. I’m proud to join this bipartisan letter with my colleagues around the country.” 

The legislation supports public safety officers suffering from PTSD by: 

  • Designating work-related PTSD as a “line-of duty” injury for eligible officers and those disabled from attempted suicide. 
  • Allowing families of officers who die by trauma-linked suicide to apply for death benefits. 

This legislation is also endorsed by the American Psychological Association, the Fraternal Order of Police, the Federal Law Enforcement Officers Association, National Association of Police Organizations, Sergeants benevolent Association, National Sheriffs Association, Blue H.E.L.P, the National Border Patrol Council, and the United States Capitol Police Labor Committee. 

To read the letter, click here

Nessel is joined by the attorneys general of Alaska, American Samoa, Arkansas California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.