Skip to main content

Board Members

The State of Michigan Retirement Board provides oversight of the State Employees' Retirement System Defined Benefit (DB) Plan, the Judges Retirement System DB Plan, and the Military Retirement Provisions. The governor appoints five of the nine members to represent active and retired state employees. Four board members represent the state government offices that are required to participate in the board. Upon expiration of a term a member may continue to serve, at the pleasure of the governor, until a successor is appointed.

Board Member


General public
Ann Marie Storberg For state treasurer ex-officio
David A. Berridge, chair
Term expires Dec. 31, 2024
State employees
Kurt Weiss For state personnel director ex-officio
Lauri Schmidt, vice chair
Term expires Dec. 31, 2023
State retirees
Lisa Geminick For attorney general, ex officio
Craig Murray Deputy auditor general, ex officio
Judge Leo Bowman (Ret.)
Term expires Dec. 31, 2025
Capt. Felipe Torres
Term expires Dec. 31, 2026
Michigan National Guard
Meg Skelley, executive secretary