Accelerated EFT Filers
Taxpayers who average more than $720,000 of sales or use tax, or $480,000 of withholding tax each year are required to pay their taxes by EFT on an accelerated schedule.
Schedule for Accelerated Sales and Use Tax filers:
- A transmission of 75 percent of the previous month’s tax liability or 75 percent of the prior tax year’s liability for the same month.
- A reconciliation payment is due on or before the 20th day of the subsequent month.
For more information, see PA 17 and 18 of 1993, as amended and PA 265, 266 and 267 of 1998 on the Michigan Legislature's Web site.
In the spring of each year, Treasury will notify taxpayers that meet the criteria for accelerated sales and use tax of the change in their filing status.
Schedule for Accelerated Withholding Tax filers:
According to PA 82 and 83 of 1991, an Accelerated Withholding Tax filer is required to remit withholding taxes the same day as federal payments regardless of the amount due. Payment must be made by EFT using an EFT Credit or EFT Debit payment method.
Instructions and FAQS
- 2316, Questions and Answers About Paying Your Sales and Use Tax on an Accelerated Basis
- 2329, Instructions for Payments of Michigan Sales, Use, Withholding, and Michigan Business Taxes Using Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) Credits
- 4285, Questions and Answers About Paying Your Withholding Tax on an Accelerated Schedule