Skip to main content

State Education Tax

State Education Tax Act, Summer Property Taxes

  • State Treasurer's Certification Letter of the SET Levy
  • Beginning with the summer 2007 property tax collection, the State of Michigan will not be collecting summer taxes for any local unit. Taxpayers in Clayton Charter Township (Genesee County) or in Sanilac County (Lamotte Township, Moore Township, Washington Township, and the City of Sandusky), your local treasurer will be collecting your summer property taxes.

State Education Tax Act (SET) requires that the property be assessed at 6 mills as part of summer property taxes. Summer property taxes are usually due by September 14. Generally, your treasurer (township, city, or county) will be collecting your summer property taxes.

Contact Your Local Treasurer for more information about paying your summer property taxes.