The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Why am I being charged penalty and interest for underpayment of estimated income tax?
Penalty and interest is charged for the following reasons:
- Estimated payments were underpaid in one or more quarters
- Estimated payments were received late
Note: Payments that are not received by the due date will be applied to the following estimated tax quarter
- No estimated payments were received
- You received income unevenly during the year and did not annualize your income
The Michigan Department of Treasury follows the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) guidelines for estimated tax requirements. Based on the IRS estimated income tax requirements, to avoid penalty and interest for underpaid estimates, your total tax paid through credits and withholding must be:
- 90% of your current year's tax liability or
- 100% of the previous year's tax liability or
- 110% of your previous year's tax liability if your previous year's adjusted gross income is more than $150,000 ($75,000 for married filing separately)
Penalty is 25% for failing to file estimated payments or 10% of underpaid tax per quarter. Interest is 1% above the prime rate.
For more information view Penalty and Interest for Underpayment of Estimates (MI-2210)