Skip to main content

Contact OHSP

Data-related questions
- For questions or requests related to data for a project proposal, please contact the OHSP (see below). 
- If a non-data related request is sent to this inbox it will not be reviewed. 

General questions (non-data related)   
- Please email general questions (non-data related) on the proposal content or process to the appropriate
OHSP Program Coordinator.

                                  CONTACT THE OFFICE OF HIGHWAY SAFETY PLANNING (OHSP)
Katie Bower is the OHSP Division Director and the designated Governor’s Representative for the Office of Highway Safety Planning. Her executive assistant is Katelyn Mullin. The OHSP Secretary is Vickie Jackson.

The OHSP is organized into four sections grouped according to functional responsibilities.  Within each section, specific units have been identified to reflect the OHSP’s priorities and programs.

i.  Planning and Administration Section (P&A)
The Planning and Administration Section is responsible for developing the triennial and annual HSPs, budgets, and providing procedural support for statewide traffic safety programming.  Section activities include planning, traffic records, data analysis, project evaluation, grant administration for commercial motor vehicle (CMV) safety, and coordination for the state Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSP). The section also produces the Annual Report (AR).

Emily Shinevar     
Planning and Administration Section Manager
ShinevarE@michigan.gov

Jordan Smith
Grant Planning and Analysis Coordinator
SmithJ228@michigan.gov

Josh Schneider
Grant System Analyst                                                           
SchneiderJ14@michigan.gov

Sarah Davis  
Traffic Records Program Coordinator                                                         
DavisS42@michigan.gov        

ii.  Program Management Section
The Program Management Section implements grant projects identified in the HSPs and coordinates regional outreach activities with local stakeholders and partners.  Section staffing includes state traffic safety coordinators for each program area who serve on a variety of state and local committees including the GTSAC Action Teams and regional Traffic Safety Networks (TSN).

Alicia Sledge
Program Section Manager                                                             
SledgeA@michigan.gov

Mackenzie Alvae
Police Traffic Services
AlvaeM1@michigan.gov

Cathy Fitzgerald
Police Traffic Services
FitzgeraldC6@michigan.gov

Travis Quimby
Young Driver Education, Older Driver Education, 
Distracted Driving, and School Bus Program Coordinator
quimbyt3@michigan.gov

Quinn Passmore
Vulnerable Roadway User Safety Program Coordinator
PassmoreQ2@michigan.gov     

Kara Rueckert
Occupant Protection Program Coordinator
RueckertK1@michigan.gov

Christy Sanborn
Impaired Driving Program Coordinator
SanbornC@michigan.gov

iii.  Financial Management Section
The Financial Management Section monitors the use of state and federal traffic safety funding awarded by the OHSP to ensure integrity and accountability. Section staff oversees accounting procedures, the office budget, financial reviews of grants, grant monitoring, and grantee payment processing.

Zada Schriner
Financial Section Manager
SchrinerZ1@michigan.gov

Amber Hignite
Federal Programs Accountant                                                                        
HigniteA@michigan.gov

Joy Marks
Account Technician
MarksJ1@michigan.gov

Manjinder-Singh Ghotra
Budget and Financial Analyst 
ghotram@michigan.gov

Alyssa Price
Grant Monitor
pricea13@michigan.gov

State Funding Program Coordinator
Vacant

iv.   Communications Section
The Communications Section plans, implements, and provides oversight for the OHSP’s communication strategies, including public information and education (PI&E) campaigns, paid advertising, earned media, graphics design and publications, and regional communications with state and local partners. The section produces the OHSP Safety Network Newsletter (SNN) and is the primary point of contact for news media and information requests.

Nancy Feldbush
Communications Section Manager                        
FeldbushN@michigan.gov

Jon Benallack
Graphic Artist
BenallackJ1@michigan.gov

Sandy Enness
Communications Specialist                                                              
EnnessS2@michigan.gov

Kara Hengesbach
Communications Project Coordinator
HengesbachK3@michigan.gov

Dennis Raymo
Communications Specialist
RaymoD@michigan.gov