Skip to main content

Regulatory & Credentialing Section

Search to display the status of a Motor Carrier

 

The Regulatory and Credentialing Section of the Michigan State Police, Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division (MSP/CVED) issues intrastate operating authority to for-hire motor carriers in accordance with the Motor Carrier Act and administers the Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) program for interstate motor carriers in accordance with the UCR Act and Agreement.

Intrastate Operating Authority

The Motor Carrier Act, Public Act 254 of 1933, requires all intrastate for-hire carriers to obtain intrastate operating authority, or CVED Authority, prior to operating a vehicle on any public roadway in Michigan.

Apply for CVED Authority

All applications for CVED Authority must be submitted online:

 

Submit application through CVED Authority Portal (CAP)

 

Once submitted, a staff member will review your application and follow up via email if additional information or action is needed.  Please note, if you are an intrastate only carrier, a household goods carrier, or a wrecker service conducting police-initiated tows, you are required to purchase decals and renew your CVED Authority annually. Please note application processing can take up to 30 days.

CAP Instructions

What is required for approval of my application?

Intrastate Only Carriers and Wrecker Companies Conducting Police Initiated Tows (Non-consensual Tows):

  • Valid application for a USDOT number, if applicable (required if the GVWR is over 26,001 lbs.)
  • Business filings with the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) or local county clerk
  • Proof of workers' compensation insurance or an approved exclusion form from the Workers' Compensation Agency
  • Certificate of Liability and a Form E from your insurance company
  • All processing and decal fees must be paid

Moving Companies (Carriers of Household Goods)

In addition to the items listed above, the following are requirements for household goods carriers:

  • Form H from your insurance company
  • A copy of any continuous contracts
  • Tariff membership if traveling more than 40 miles and not operating under a continuous contract

Interstate Carriers of Household Goods

  • Valid USDOT number
  • Insurance filings
  • Paid UCR
  • Business filings with LARA or local county clerk
  • Proof of workers' compensation insurance or an approved exclusion form from the Workers' Compensation Agency

Am I required to renew my CVED Authority?

The following carriers are required to renew their CVED Authority annually:

  • All carriers operating intrastate only including general commodities and wrecker companies
  • All carriers of household goods, both interstate and intrastate
  • All interstate wrecker companies conducting police-initiated tows

Interstate carriers transporting only general commodities are NOT required to renew if they stay current on UCR fees.

The renewal period takes place each year from October 1 - December 1.  Notices are mailed to carriers in the fall with instructions for renewal.  Failure to renew by January 1st will result in revocation of your CVED Authority.

Questions Regarding CVED Authority or CAP?

Contact the Regulatory and Credentialing Section:

Phone:  517-284-3250, option 4, and then option 1
Email:  MSP-CVED-RCS@michigan.gov



 

Contact the MILogin Helpdesk:

Phone: 877-932-6424
MILogin website: milogin.michigan.gov

Need to submit a complaint?

Email: MSP-CVED-RCS@michigan.gov

Questions about plating and driver licensing?

Contact the Secretary of State (SOS):

Phone: 800-SOS-MICH (800-767-6424)
SOS website: michigan.gov/sos

Need help with DOT Questions?

Contact the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA):

Phone: 800-832-5660
FMCSA website: fmcsa.dot.gov