Skip to main content

Meet the Director

James F. Grady II

Col. James F. Grady II

Director, Michigan State Police

  • Col. James F. Grady II is the 20th Director of the Michigan State Police. As Director, Colonel Grady also serves as State Director of Emergency Management and as Michigan’s Homeland Security Director.

    In 1998, Colonel Grady joined the MSP as a trooper, serving at the former Adrian and Detroit posts. He was promoted to detective and supervisor at the post level. 
    In 2015, Colonel Grady was promoted to detective first lieutenant and section commander of the Fraud Investigation teams, where he was responsible for the coordination of investigations to protect the citizens of Michigan from fraud.  
    In 2018, Colonel Grady was promoted to assistant division commander within the Emergency Management and Homeland Security Division, making him responsible for day-to-day management of all programs and activities within the division. In this role, he also served as a liaison to the governor’s office, Federal Emergency Management Agency, and Department of Homeland Security.  
    In 2020, Colonel Grady was promoted to captain and became commander of the MSP Training Division, where he worked to modernize the police training program and develop well-rounded and highly trained troopers. 
    Colonel Grady holds a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice and criminology from Eastern Michigan University and is currently working toward a Master of Business Administration degree from Cleary University.