The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Social media samples for Law Enforcement
April is National Distracted Driving Awareness Month, so we're stepping up enforcement ofMichigan's law against texting while driving. About 3,000 Americans die each year in crashes involving distracted driving.
Is that text really worth dying for?
Did you know that texting while driving is against the law in Michigan? You can be fined as much as $200 for texting behind the wheel, and during April, we'll be stepping up enforcement. Put your phone away and focus on the road. Remember: what distracts you can impact you.
April is National Distracted Driving Awareness Month, and we are stepping up enforcement. Texting while driving is against Michigan law, but it's not the only distraction. Eating, doing your hair, searching for the perfect song all these can take your focus off the road. When you drive, just drive.
Sending or reading a text takes your eyes off the road for about 5 seconds. Driving at 55 miles per hour, that's enough time to drive the length of a football field. To protect everyone from the dangers of distracted driving, we're stepping up enforcement in April. Focus on the road; that text is not worth dying for.