The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Misuse of the LEIN System
Criminal penalties for the misuse of LEIN are provided in Section 4 of the CJIS Policy Council Act, MCL 28.214, which specifically states:
- For a first offense, guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than $500.00, or both.
- For a second or subsequent offense, guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 4 years or a fine of not more than $2,000.00, or both.
Use of driver information obtained through LEIN is prohibited by the federal Driver Privacy Protection Act (18 USC 2724) and Michigan compiled law 257.903:
- 18 USC 2724 permits a criminal fine and allows for civil action to be taken: A person who knowingly obtains, discloses or uses personal information, from a motor vehicle record, for a purpose not permitted under this chapter shall be liable to the individual to whom the information pertains, who may bring a civil action in a United States district court.
- MCL 257.903 states: a person who uses personal information for a purpose other than a permissible purpose in MCL 257.208c or 257.232 is guilty of a felony.
Criminal History Information obtained through the FBI National Crime Information Center is protected under 28 CFR 20 and misuse can result in:
- ...a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 for a violation occurring before September 29, 1999, and not to exceed $11,000 for a violation occurring on after September 29, 1999.