Skip to main content

Concealed Pistol Application and Instructions

On March 3, 2020, the United States Department of Justice Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) determined that the Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL) no longer qualifies as a National Instant Criminal Background Check (NICS) alternative permit for possessing and transporting firearms.  

Michigan CPL-holders who purchase firearms from or through a federally licensed firearms dealer (FFL) should expect to undergo a NICS background check through the FFL, as required by federal law. Questions regarding the NICS background check should be directed to the Federal Bureau of Investigation NICS Section at 1-877-FBI-NICS (877-324-6427).

Concealed Pistol Application and Instructions

  1. Concealed pistol application kits are provided free of charge during normal business hours by county clerks, or found here (
  1. Concealed pistol application kit includes the following: 
  • Written information regarding the procedures involved in obtaining a concealed pistol license (CPL).
  • RI-012 Concealed Pistol License Guide and Application found on the MSP Forms page under Firearms & Background Records. 
  • Written information identifying entities that offer the required CPL training, if maintained by the county clerk.
  1. Application Process:

The applicant must file this application with the county clerk in the county in which he or she resides. The application shall be signed under oath by the applicant. The oath shall be administered by the county clerk or his or her representative.

The applicant must also:
  • Include a certificate stating that the applicant has completed the required pistol safety training course.
  • If an applicant does not have a digitized photograph on file with the Michigan Secretary of State, include a passport-quality photograph.
  • Pay all applicable fees. For all applications, there is a $100.00 application and licensing fee payable to the county clerk. The county clerk will provide a receipt for payment of fees.
  • Upon paying all applicable fees and filing the application, the applicant must have classifiable fingerprints taken by the county clerk, state police, sheriff’s office, local police agency, or other entity that provides fingerprinting services.
  • The entity providing fingerprinting services shall issue a receipt when fingerprints are taken so long as the applicant has provided an application receipt. The fingerprinting receipt must contain:
  • Name of the applicant.
  • Date and time the receipt is issued.
  • The amount paid.
  • The name of the entity providing fingerprint services.
  • The applicant’s state issued driver’s license or personal identification card number.
  • The statement “This receipt was issued for the purpose of applying for a CPL. As provided in section 5b of 1927 PA 372, MCL 28.425(b), if a license or notice of statutory disqualification is not issued within 45 days after the date this receipt was issued, this receipt shall serve as a CPL for the individual named in the receipt when carried with an official state issued driver’s license or personal identification card. The receipt is valid as a license until a license or notice of statutory disqualification is issued by the county clerk. This receipt does not exempt the individual named in the receipt from complying with all applicable laws for the purchases of firearms.”
  • Possession of a valid receipt of application for a CPL does not exempt the holder from the requirement to obtain a license to purchase a pistol or exempt a firearms dealer from running a background check prior to the sale of a pistol.
  1. The entity providing fingerprint services will fingerprint the applicant and immediately forward the fingerprints to the MSP for processing.
  1. The county clerk shall issue a license or notice of statutory disqualification within 45 days after the date the applicant has classifiable fingerprints taken.


CC-79 Claim of Appeal on Application for Concealed Weapon License