The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Conviction Set Aside Public Information
New changes to the set aside/expungement laws in Michigan took effect April 11, 2021. The changes allow for additional types of offenses, as well as an increased number of felonies, and misdemeanors to be set aside by application. For more information regarding that process, you can visit any of the following sites:
- AG - Expungement of Criminal Offenses in Michigan
- I Have an Adult Criminal Conviction That I Would Like to Set Aside (Expunge) | Michigan Legal Help
- Clean Slate
Michigan Clean Slate, the automatic set aside process, takes effect April 2023. Please note, individuals who may qualify for the automatic set asides can still apply to the court of conviction prior to April 2023 by following the current set aside process.
Find Michigan Clean Slate conviction set aside information
Procedure To Set Aside a Conviction
Conviction set aside applications must be filed in the court where the conviction occurred. If applying for multiple set asides, within multiple courts, you must use a separate application for each court.
Instructions and helpful tips: Setting Aside an Adult Conviction in Michigan | Michigan Legal Help
Determine whether you are eligible to have your conviction set aside. You can check your public criminal history record using ICHAT. However, please note that ICHAT will not show juvenile cases. Local court files may have additional information.
If you are a Michigan resident, you may go to your local law enforcement agency and ask to be printed on a Michigan Applicant Fingerprint card (RI-008). Complete the card entirely.
- We recommend calling the agency to verify their hours of operation for applicant fingerprinting.
- The law enforcement agency may choose to fingerprint you on a Live Scan machine. They cannot submit the prints electronically. They can provide you with the printed copy.
If you are not a current Michigan resident, go to any law enforcement agency in the state where you reside and ask to be printed on an FBI Applicant Fingerprint card (FD-258). In the "Reason Fingerprinted" block of the card write in "Conviction Set Aside". Complete the card entirely.
Submit the fingerprints, the application to set aside conviction, a certified copy of the judgment of sentence, probation order, or register of actions, and a $50.00 processing fee in the form of a money order or check made payable to the State of Michigan to:
Michigan State Police
P.O. Box 30266
Lansing, Michigan 48909-7766
(A processing fee is not required for juvenile set aside applications).
Allow 8 weeks for processing and mail delivery of the Michigan criminal history record search. Responses are sent to the court, prosecutor, attorney general, and the applicant or their attorney.