Presidential Awards for Excellence

  • The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are the nation's highest honors for teachers of mathematics and science (including computer science). Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

    Since 1983, more than 4,700 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession. If you know great teachers, nominate them to join this prestigious network of professionals at Awards alternate each year between elementary and secondary teachers. In the 2018 award cycle, nominees must be a K-6 mathematics or science teacher. Nominations are due on April 1 each year. Once nominated, teachers will receive an email with a login and password to access the online application. The application deadline for K-6 teachers is May 1, 2018.

  • Michigan Winners of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching
  • Eligibility Requirements:

    • Teach mathematics or science (including computer science) as part of their contracted teaching responsibilities. 

    • Hold at least a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution.

    • Be a full-time employee of the school district as determined by state and district policies, with responsibilities for teaching students no less than 50% of the school's allotted instructional time.

    • Have at least five years of full-time employment as a K-12 teacher during which mathematics or science (including computer science) has been a part of the applicant's teaching duties 

    • Teach in one of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Department of Defense Education Activity schools, or the U.S. territories as a group (American Samoa, Guam, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and U.S. Virgin Islands).

    • Be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident.

    • Not have received the PAEMST award at the national level in any prior competition or category.

    Recipients of the award receive the following:

    • A certificate signed by the President of the United States.

    • A paid trip to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities.

    • A $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

    • An opportunity to build lasting partnerships with colleagues across the nation.

    Questions about PAEMST may be directed to Josh Roesner at ...