The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Test Fee Reimbursement Grant Program
Public Act 119 of 2023 Article 3, Section 1104 appropriated $1,000,000 for grants to reimburse eligible applicants who take a required Michigan Test for Teacher Certification (MTTC) test for the first time during the 2023-24 academic year. To be eligible for reimbursement, test-takers must meet one of the following conditions:
- They were not a certified teacher in any state and took a required subject area MTTC for the first time.
- They were a certified teacher in another state and took a required MTTC for the first time.
- They were a Michigan certified teacher and took a required MTTC for the first time.
MDE will reimburse eligible test-takers until the $1,000,000 appropriation has been exhausted.
Application Process and Materials
- Pearson, the Michigan Department of Education’s (MDE) contracted vendor for the MTTC program, will contact eligible test-takers via email after score reports are released to notify them of their eligibility status and invite them to complete a brief grant application.
- These emails will be sent to the address used for test registration. Emails will be sent one time.
- Pearson will begin emailing eligible test-takers on January 30, 2024. Eligible candidates who tested on or after October 2, 2023 will receive an email on January 30, 2024.
- Eligible test-takers will be given a due date to apply for reimbursement.
- Pearson will process reimbursements directly to test-takers using their original form of payment.
- Eligible test-takers should allow up to six weeks from the grant application date for processing.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the "2023-24 academic year?”
The 2023-24 academic year begins October 2, 2023 through September 30, 2024.
How do I know if I'm eligible?
Pearson will contact all eligible test-takers, notifying them of their opportunity to apply for the grant. If you believe you are eligible but did not receive an email from Pearson within 5 business days of completing your test, read through the eligibility criteria (above) to confirm your specific case. If you still believe you are eligible and did not receive an email from Pearson, please contact Bridgett McDowell, Education Assessment Specialist, at McDowellB@Michigan.gov.
I received the email from Pearson telling me that I am eligible. How long do I have to apply?
Eligible test-takers should apply as soon as possible, referring to their email and grant application for specific due dates. Grants will be awarded on a first-come, first-served basis. MDE cannot fund grant applications received after the funds have been exhausted.
How do I know which MTTC test I need to take?
Please refer to MDE’s MTTC website for advice on which test(s) to take and when, as well as other frequently asked questions. On that page, candidates will also find important information about test registration, study materials, preparation webinars, alternative testing arrangements, and the MTTC five-year validity and retesting policy.
I took my required MTTC, Elementary Education (MI103), before October 2, 2023. Can I retest this academic year and be eligible for the grant?
No. Only testing between October 2, 2023 and September 30, 2024 is eligible for reimbursement. However, if you need to take an MTTC for a test field that is different from any previous MTTC test you’ve taken, you could be eligible. For example, while you would not be eligible for grant funds to retake MI103, you may be eligible for Mathematics (Elementary) (MI089) if that was the first time you have taken that specific test.
Do I need to pay for my test first, or can I use the grant money to pay for my registration?
The grant requires eligible applicants to be reimbursed for their test fees; therefore, you must pay for and take the test to be eligible.
Do I have to pass my test to be eligible?
What happens if I am unable to keep my test appointment? Can I be reimbursed if I don’t show for my test?
Candidates who cannot keep their test appointment should follow the Reschedule Policy and Cancellation Policy described in their appointment confirmation email. These policies include processes for emergency situations that require candidates to cancel with less than 24 hours’ notice. Do not show up for a test appointment if you are unwell.
There are options candidates can exercise to cancel or reschedule appointments, even with short notice. Candidates who do not show for their tests will not be eligible for reimbursement through the grant.
How will I receive my grant money?
Grant money will be processed as a reimbursement from Pearson, using your original form of payment. Please allow up to six weeks from your grant application date for processing.
I used a voucher to pay for my test. Can I be reimbursed?
No. Vouchers are not eligible for reimbursement because the test fee was not paid by the candidate. Eligible applicants can be reimbursed for the portion of test fees they paid excluding the voucher. For example, an applicant who applied a $59 voucher to a $129 test fee, paying the rest out-of-pocket, is eligible for the out-of-pocket cost ($70).
I received the grant application, but I don’t want to accept the grant. Can I decline?
Yes. Simply choose “decline” in the grant application.