Skip to main content
Labor and Economic Opportunity

Future Faculty Fellowship (FFF) Program


The King-Chávez-Parks (KCP) Initiative's Future Faculty Fellowship (FFF) Program provides State of Michigan funding to Michigan's 15 public universities to increase the pool of academically- or economically-disadvantaged candidates pursuing faculty teaching careers in postsecondary education.

Qualified individuals may apply for an FFF Award through the university at which they have been accepted, provided they are pursuing a graduate degree in a program that facilitates a career in postsecondary teaching.

By signing a Fellowship Agreement, FFF Award recipients are required to pursue and obtain a master's/specialist or doctoral degree at one of the 15 public universities in Michigan. Following degree completion, FFF Award recipients are also obligated to obtain a postsecondary faculty teaching or approved administrative position at a public or private, 2- or 4-year, in-state or out-of-state postsecondary institution; they must also remain in that position for up to 3 years equivalent full-time, dependent upon the amount of the FFF Award. Recipients who do not fulfill the obligations of their Fellowship Agreement will have their Fellowship converted to a loan, referred to as a KCP Loan, that the recipient will be required to repay to the State of Michigan.

Applicants requesting consideration for an FFF Award must be able to provide documentation or allow verification that they meet, at a minimum, the following eligibility criteria:

  • The applicant is a citizen of the United States.
  • The applicant meets the university's requirements for Michigan residency.
  • The applicant has been accepted at that Michigan public university into a graduate degree program that facilitates a career in postsecondary teaching.
  • The applicant is in good academic standing, as defined by the university.
  • The applicant is not currently in default on any guaranteed student loan.
  • The applicant has not previously received another FFF Award for the same degree level (master's/specialist or doctorate). (Note: Previous recipients who did not receive the maximum allowable award may reapply for additional funds while still in pursuit of that degree.)
  • The applicant is not currently a recipient of an FFF Award at another university for a degree that has not been completed.
  • The applicant has not previously had an FFF Award converted to a KCP Loan.
  • The applicant is academically or economically disadvantaged, as defined by the KCP Initiative. 

Forms and Documents

  • FFF Eligibility Requirements & Statement
  • FFF Service Credit Guidelines
  • FFF Administrative Service Pre-Approval Form
  • FFF Non-Traditional Service Pre-Approval Form
  • FFF Service Reporting Form

Contact Information

LEO-WD Targeted Services
KCP Initiative - FFF Program
201 North Washington Square
Lansing, MI 48913
Phone: 517-335-5858