The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Michigan celebrates Youth Employment Month in June, and is a great time for students to gain valuable skills for their future careers.
The State of Michigan encourages employers to invest in young talent because it's good for business and the economy.
Download a work permit
CA-6 Work Permit for minor under 16 years of age
CA-7 Work Permit for minor 16 to 17 years of age
Employers must keep completed permits on file for each employed minor.
Youth Worker Safety
Working teens have rights on the job, and employers have the responsibility to provide a safe workplace. MIOSHA and
the Wage and Hour Division want working teens to have a safe and rewarding work experience. MIOSHA can help
working teens prevent job-related injuries and illnesses.
Learn more at MI.gov/MIOSHA
Connect with your local Michigan Works! Service Center, a proud partner of the American Job Center network, to find career events in your area and get access to other valuable resources.
Vocational Rehabilitation Services
Frequently Asked Questions
Does a minor have to appear in person at the school to obtain a work permit?
No. Effective March 24, 2021, the amended law allows in-person, remote and electronic methods that are acceptable to the school or school district issuing the work permit.
Do minors need to be supervised?
Yes. A minor shall not work unless the employer, or his or her employee at least 18 years of age, provides supervision. The supervisor must ensure immediate assistance is available in case of an emergency.
Is a work permit required for a minor before starting work?
Yes, unless the minor is exempt. A minor may contact any local Michigan school where the employer or the minor is located to have a work permit issued.
"Issuing officer" means the chief administrator of a school district, intermediate school district, public school academy, or nonpublic school, or a person authorized by that chief administrator in writing to act on his or her behalf.
Is a work permit required to be printed on a certain color of paper?
No, effective March 24, 2021, the amended law removed the yellow and pink paper distinctions. The act now uses a different means to distinguish work permits for youth under age 16 versus those 16-17 years of age. Work permits issued for minors under age 16 are printed in landscape orientation, and work permits for minors 16-17 years of age are printed in portrait orientation.
All work permits MUST include the applicable 2nd page; preferably printed on the back of the first page.
What is the minimum age for employment?
In general, the minimum age for youth employment is 14 years.
Who is covered by the YESA act?
The Youth Employment Standards Act, 1978 Public Act 90, covers all businesses which employ minors under the age of 18 in the State of Michigan. When both state and federal youth employment laws apply to a business, the law with the most stringent standard controls.
More Youth Employment Frequently Asked Questions
Share on Your Channels
Follow the conversation about Youth Employment Month in Michigan using #MIYouthEmployment. Feel free to use the graphics and digital resources to share on your social media channels and website.
Why Youth Employment is Important to Students?
Ani Schneiderhan, Upper Peninsula Michigan Works!
"Determination Pays Off"
Abdul Maalek Iben Abu Jabreel, Michigan Works! Southwest
Kaylee Stevens, Great Lakes Bay Michigan Works!
"Job Prep to Job Offer"
Andrew Spencer, Michigan Works! Region 7B