The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Minimum Wage Set to Increase January 1, 2024
On January 1, 2024, Michigan's minimum wage rate will increase from $10.10 to $10.33 per hour as set by Michigan's Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage Act of 2018 which establishes the annual schedule of increases.
Effective January 1, 2024:
- The minimum hourly wage will increase to $10.33 per hour.
- The 85% rate for minors aged 16and 17 will increase to $8.78 per hour.
- The tipped employee rate of hourly pay increases to $3.93 per hour.
- The training wage of $4.25 per hour for newly hired employees ages 16 to 19 for their first 90 days of employment remains unchanged.
Visit the Litigation on Minimum Wage and Paid Medical Leave page for updates.