Skip to main content

Individual Assistance (IA)

Through its Federal Individual Assistance (IA) Program, FEMA provides direct assistance to individuals and households, as well as State, local, territorial, and tribal governments to support individual survivors.  The majority of disaster assistance provided to individuals from the Federal government comes in the form of low-interest disaster loans administered by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).


The Federal IA Program consists of several categories:


Guidance and Resources




Grant Forms