Vulnerable or Impaired Person (VIP) Enrollment
In Michigan, MCL 722.774 and MCL 28.274 allow a parent/legal guardian/power of attorney of an individual with special needs to voluntarily provide the Vulnerable or Impaired Person’s (VIP’s) fingerprints and photograph for inclusion in a State of Michigan repository that can be used to assist in identifying the VIP should he/she become lost in the future or find him/herself in a situation in which he/she cannot identify him/herself.
Fingerprints are captured electronically using a system known as Live Scan. Live Scan is a device that captures fingerprints by placing them on a lighted glass screen. Some Live Scan devices also have the capability to capture a photograph as well. A VIP’s fingerprints and photograph (if captured) are stored along with additional demographic information, including the home address of the VIP and a contact person, email address, and phone number for the person legally responsible for the VIP.
Once enrolled in the VIP program, law enforcement has the ability to utilize a Live Scan device or mobile fingerprint scanner to access the information to quickly identify a VIP who may have trouble identifying him/herself. The goal of the VIP program is to return VIPs to familiar, safe environments, while maintaining their dignity.
- Download and complete the VIP Enrollment form.
- Take the completed form to a participating Live Scan agency. Before going, it is highly recommended that you call the Live Scan agency to confirm the following:
- The agency will print for the VIP fingerprint reason code, and whether there are certain days and times the agency will print for the VIP reason code.
- If desired, find out if their Live Scan device has the capability to capture photographs.
- Ask about the cost. You can expect the cost to include $30 for the state processing fee along with any fee charged by the Live Scan agency.
- Once fingerprints are taken, make sure to get the completed VIP form back from the Live Scan agency. To complete the enrollment process you must send the form to the Michigan State Police (MSP) within 30 days. For audit and security reasons, if the signed form is not submitted to the MSP within 30 days, the VIP's fingerprints will be removed from the repository; fees will NOT be refunded. If fingerprints are removed, you may enroll in the future, but the process must be started from the beginning, including paying the fees again. The following are acceptable ways to send the completed VIP form to the MSP:
Mail: Michigan State Police
Attn: Autoprint Unit
P.O. Box 30634
Lansing, MI 48909
- Look for an email confirmation that the individual's information was successfully stored at the State of Michigan. Please retain this email in the event that information needs to be updated in the future.