Hazardous Waste User Charges and Invoice Packets

User Charges 

The hazardous waste user charges were effective in Michigan on October 1, 2002.  The user charges are established under Part 111, Hazardous Waste Management, of the Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act, 1994 PA 451, as amended (Act 451), which underwent revision pursuant to PA 403 of 2008, with an effective date for the revisions of January 5, 2009.   The statute is available on the Internet at: http://www.michiganlegislature.org

Basis for User Charges 

The user charges were developed to replace the revenues that were lost when Michigan adopted the uniform state hazardous materials transportation registration and permit program (Uniform Program) in 1998.  Under the Uniform Program, license fees for transporters became apportioned among the participating states.  The net effect in Michigan was a loss of $1.6 million in license revenue that had gone to support the hazardous waste program. 

When the Michigan Legislature adopted the Uniform Program, it required the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE) to develop a proposal for replacement fees.  EGLE developed its proposal for replacement fees by working with a stakeholders group comprised of representatives of environmental organizations and the regulated community.  The work group recommended a combination of user charges that are equitable, broad-based, reliable and enforceable, and easy to pay and collect:  a one‑time user charge for the issuance of a site identification number; a user charge for processing manifests*, and an annual handler user charge for certain hazardous waste activities.  The new user charges under Part 111 of Act 451 are consistent with the work group's recommendation. 

User Charge for Obtaining a Site Identification Number 

The user charge for obtaining a site identification number will be collected before EGLE issues a site identification number.  EGLE form EQP 5150 is completed by the handler when initially notifying EGLE of hazardous waste activity at the site and applying for the site identification number (e.g., MIR 000 000 000).  Effective October 1, 2002, all EQP 5150 forms submitted for this initial notification must be accompanied by payment of the $50.00 user charge and the taxpayer identification number of the handler.  Subsequent notifications (e.g., to change generator status) using the EQP 5150 form will not require the $50.00 user charge.  Handlers who already have a site identification number will not be assessed the $50 charge for the use of that number. 

Annual Handler User Charge 

The handler user charges will be assessed and collected once each year.  The first assessment of the handler user charges will be sent to the handlers by March 30th.  The annual handler user charges are as follows: 

Type 

Amount 

 

 

Hazardous Waste Generation (one of the adjacent user charges based on quantity of hazardous waste generated and regulated generator status) 

Small Quantity Generation (generated more than 100 kg but less than 1,000 kg in any month), OR 

$100.00 

Large Quantity Generation (generated 1,000 kg or more in any month; less than 900,000 kg in the calendar year), OR 

$400.00 

Very Large Quantity Generator (generated 900,000 kg or more in the calendar year) 

$1,000.00 

Used oil processors, re-refiners, burners, and used oil fuel marketers 

$100.00 

Licensed hazardous waste treatment, storage, and disposal facilities 

$2,000.00 

 

The handler user charges are additive, except that only one of the charges based on hazardous waste generation would apply.  The maximum handler user charges would be $3,100.00 for a handler who generated 900,000 kg or more of hazardous waste, who also processed used oil, and who also operated as a licensed treatment, storage, or disposal facility during the previous calendar year. 

$1,000.00 + $100.00 + $2,000.00 = $3,100.00 

The handler user charges are based on previous calendar year activity. 

EGLE will use manifest, monthly operating report, biennial report, and site identification information in the  Waste Data System  (WDS) to calculate the annual handler user charges. 

The determination of whether the small quantity or large quantity generation user charge applies rests on the highest level of activity in any one month during the calendar year.  For example, a handler who was a large quantity generator in one month and then a small quantity generator for the other eleven months would be assessed the large quantity generation user charge of $400.00 for that year.  Similarly, a handler who manages used oil (used oil processor, re‑refiner, burner, or used oil fuel marketer) or who is a treatment, storage, or disposal facility at any time during the calendar year will be assessed the user charge for that activity. 

EGLE may suspend the assessment and collection of the handler user charges from year to year if a substantial surplus develops in the account used to fund the hazardous waste program. 

FAQs on the Hazardous Waste TSDF User Charge 

Manifest Processing User Charge 

The manifest processing user charge will be assessed and collected once each year.  The first assessment of the manifest processing user charge will be sent to handlers by March 30th for manifests processed during the previous calendar year.

*Under the federal e-manifest regulations that went into effect on June 30, 2018, EGLE’s role in processing manifests will change.  EGLE will not be processing manifests dated on or after June 30, 2018.  As such, the annual assessment referenced below for the 2018 calendar year will only contain manifest processing user charges for manifests dated January 1 to June 29, 2018.

Annual Assessments 

EGLE will send assessments for the handler and manifest processing user charges, in the form of an annual user charge invoice packet, to each hazardous waste handler by March 30th of each year. 

The invoice packet will include an itemized statement of the user charges and the basis for them.  The handler will be required to make any necessary corrections and to certify that the information on the form is accurate.  The certified form and appropriate payment must be submitted to EGLE by April 30th of each year. 

Ancillary Benefits of the User Charges Collection System 

While the primary objective of the user charges is to fund the hazardous waste program, there will be ancillary benefits due to how the user charges are collected.  EGLE will use the WDS to calculate the user charges.  The data in the WDS is based on information supplied and certified by the handlers.  Once each year the handlers will be making corrections to that data.  This annual data "cleanup" should produce a much more accurate database that is used for the following: 

  • Regulatory impact analyses 
  • Freedom of Information Act Requests 
  • Hazardous waste generation trend analyses 
  • Hazardous waste import and export trend analyses 
  • Hazardous waste program permitting, closure,  corrective action, and compliance inspection planning 

Liquid Industrial By-Products (formerly Liquid Industrial Waste)

Michigan regulates the transportation of liquid industrial by-products pursuant to Part 121, Liquid Industrial By-products, of Act 451.  Liquid industrial by-products handlers must pay the one-time user charge for obtaining a site identification number. 

Penalties for Nonpayment 

Handlers who fail to provide timely payment of the required user charges will be automatically subject to administrative fines of up to 25% of the delinquent amount.  EGLE may also initiate enforcement action, subjecting the handler to additional penalties under Part 111 of Act 451.  

Forms and Instructions 

Additional Information 

For additional information about the user charges, please call 800-662-9278, or E-mail:  DEQ-HWUSERCHARGES@michigan.gov The volume of calls and/or emails may prohibit staff from responding to your request immediately.
 

Hazardous Waste User Charges Summary Table 

Type 

Description 

Amount 

Site Identification number 

One-time user charge for the issuance of a site identification number (e.g., MIK 999 999 999) to a person who handles hazardous waste or liquid industrial by-products (formerly liquid industrial waste). 

$50.00/number 

How Collected: Prior to issuance of a site identification number.  The handler’s payment and a completed and signed EQP 5150 form that includes the taxpayer identification number must accompany the request.  Submittal of the form may be done by facsimile and then payment by credit card through https://www.thepayplace.com/mi/deq/ and selecting State DEQ Site ID fee, or by mailing a paper copy of the form with a check.

Handler User Charges 

Category 

Description 

Amount 

Small Quantity Generator OR 

>100 kg and <1000 kg in any month [Note:  there are additional accumulation and other rules that apply when determining the generator category.] 

$100.00/yr 

Large Quantity Generator OR 

>1,000 kg in any month and <900,000 kg for the year [Note:  there are additional accumulation and other rules that apply when determining the generator category.] 

$400.00/yr 

Very Large Quantity Generator 

>1,000 kg in any month and >900,000 kg for the year [Note:  there are additional accumulation and other rules that apply when determining the generator category.] 

$1,000.00/yr 

How Collected:  Assessed annually for the previous calendar year.  There is only one charge and it would be the highest payment due.  Payment is due by April 30. 

Used Oil Processors, Re-refiners, Burners, and Used Oil Fuel Marketers 

 

$100.00/yr 

Licensed Hazardous Waste Treatment, Storage, and Disposal Facilities 

 

$2,000.00/yr 

How Collected:  Assessed annually for the previous calendar year.  The charges are additive.  Payment is due by April 30. 

Manifest Processing 

User charge for processing manifests of hazardous waste shipments.  Charge is per manifest. 

$8.00 per manifest 

How Collected:  Assessed annually for the previous calendar year. Payment is due by April 30.