Skip to main content

Non-Public Schools Have Shared Voice in New Work Group

April 27, 2018

LANSING – An enhanced public-private partnership is the goal of a first-of-its-kind group whose members include representatives of public and non-public schools and their associations, the Michigan Department of Education (MDE) announced today.

The Non-public Schools Work Group is a requirement of the federal Every Student Succeeds Act’s (ESSA) equitable-services provisions calling for increased collaboration between public and non-public schools regarding federal education grants, such as Title I, Parts A and C; Title II, Part A; and Title III, Part A.

“The work group gives Michigan non-public schools and their associations a recognized seat at the table of educational stakeholders,” State Superintendent Brian Whiston said. “We hope this group will help improve education for all students in Michigan as we move forward together on the plan to make Michigan a Top 10 education state in 10 years.”

The group is comprised of MDE Equitable Services Ombudsman Theresa Nugent; MDE education content experts; and the following external stakeholders:

  • Tim Schmig, Michigan Association of Christian Schools
  • Travis Grulke, Michigan Lutheran School Association – Missouri Synod
  • Paul Ihde, St. Paul’s Lutheran School, Stevensville
  • Bisham Singh, Oxford Academy Montessori, Macomb
  • Joe Carlson, Holy Name School, Escanaba
  • Jason Allen, Manistee Catholic Central
  • Dan Meester, Holland Christian Schools
  • Brian Broderick, Michigan Association of Nonpublic Schools
  • Jill Annable, Catholic Diocese of Grand Rapids
  • Sam Kennedy, Association of Independent Michigan Schools
  • Sheri Castanon, Michigan Council of Seventh Day Adventists
  • Laura Otten, Kent Intermediate School District

Ombudsman Nugent said the work group will have four meetings throughout the year to discuss education issues non-public schools may be facing.