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Progressing to the Professional 

Teaching Certificate 
The Professional Teaching Certificate is valid for up to 5 years and may be applied for 

any time requirements are met. 

Requirements: 

1. 3 years of successful teaching since the issue date of the initial Standard 

Teaching Certificate, within the content areas and grade level of the Standard 

Teaching Certificate; and 

2. 6 semester credit hours of reading methods course work for elementary 

teachers and 3 semester credit hours for secondary certified teachers.  If you 

completed your teacher preparation program in Michigan since 1985, you have 

met this requirement; and 

3. 3 semester credit hours of reading diagnostics and remediation, which includes 

a field experience. This credit can be applied toward the professional learning 

requirement listed below assuming the credit was earned after the issue date 

of the most recent certificate or renewal; and 

4. Education-related professional learning totaling 150 hours; or 

An education-related master’s or higher degree earned at any time (even if 

previously utilized to renew the Standard Teaching Certificate) from a 
regionally accredited college or university; and 

5. Effectiveness ratings in accordance with MCL 380.1531j: 

a. Consecutive:  effective or highly effective ratings on your annual year-

end performance evaluations for the 3 consecutive school years 
immediately preceding your application for a Professional Teaching 

Certificate; or  

b. Nonconsecutive:  effective or highly effective ratings on your annual 

year-end performance evaluation for at least 3 nonconsecutive school 

years prior to applying for the Professional Teaching Certificate, 

including: 

i. An Effective Educator Recommendation form completed by the 

chief school administrator of the school where you are currently 

employed.  

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Successful_Teaching_Experience_605465_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Reading_Course_Requirements_526655_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Reading_Course_Requirements_526655_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Education_Related_Professional_Learning_604294_7.PDF
http://www.chea.org/4dcgi/chea/search/index.html?MenuKey=main
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(csm2rjt0fcx5fu5et315clre))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-380-1531j
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Effective_Educator_Recommendation_Form_616713_7.pdf
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Education-Related Professional Learning Options:  

One of the following education-related professional learning options must be earned 
since the issue date of the most recent Standard Teaching Certificate or renewal, and 
they must be entered into Michigan Online Educator Certification System (MOECS) 

prior to applying for the renewal for the system to recognize your eligibility: 

• 6 semester credit hours appropriate to the content and grade level of the 

certificate and endorsement from a regionally accredited college or university; 
or 

• 6 semester hours in a planned course of study** from a regionally accredited 
college or university; or 

• 150 Michigan State Continuing Education Clock Hours (SCECHs) appropriate to 
the content and grade level of the certificate and endorsement; or 

• 150 hours of Michigan District Provided Professional Development (DPPD) 
appropriate to the content and grade level of the certificate and endorsement. 

• Any combination of the above. 

IMPORTANT NOTE:  Credentialed school counselors should be aware that specific 

professional development will soon be required under Michigan law.  For more 
information go to the After February 5, 2020 section of the School Counselor License 

renewal document.  

Education-Related Professional Learning Hour Conversion: 

• College credit: 1 semester credit = 25 professional learning hours 

• SCECH Hours: 1 SCECH hour = 1 professional learning hour 
• DPPD Hours: 1 DPPD hour = 1 professional learning hour  

**Credits in a planned course of study may include credits taken as part of an 
education-related master’s or higher degree or credits in a program that leads to an 

endorsement. 
 

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Education_Related_Professional_Learning_604294_7.PDF
https://mdoe.state.mi.us/MOECS/Login.aspx
http://www.chea.org/4dcgi/chea/search/index.html?MenuKey=main
http://www.chea.org/4dcgi/chea/search/index.html?MenuKey=main
http://www.chea.org/4dcgi/chea/search/index.html?MenuKey=main
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/What_are_SCECHs_576116_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/Logging_your_DPPD_into_MOECS_Eblast_Attachment_2014-8-5_465612_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/School_Counselor_Renewal_558697_7.PDF
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/School_Counselor_Renewal_558697_7.PDF

