Accounting Services

Accounting Services operates the statewide MAIN accounting system to pay vendors for goods and services; MDE staff for travel (including maintenance of records for state permanently assigned vehicles); and other state agencies for services provided. This section provides analysis of projected spending versus budgeted amounts to MDE operating units and offers assistance to units with financial concerns. Staff close accounting books and records in accordance with Department of Management & Budget procedures. They maintain federally approved cost allocation plans for various MDE offices and perform detailed monthly cost allocations. All accounting entries are performed on a continuing basis in accordance with professional accounting standards.

Purchasing and records retention and disposal are also directed through Department Accounting Services. MDE employees are provided training in all aspects of purchasing, using the SIGMA Financial accounting system and the purchasing card.

Department Accounting Services staff includes:

Rose Zuker, Assistant Director, OFM
Phone: 517-335-2429
E-mail: ZukerR@michigan.gov

Jane Schmitt, Departmental Analyst
Phone: 517-241-2205
E-mail: SchmittJ1@michigan.gov

Ruth Thole, Buyer
Phone: 517-241-2170
E-mail: TholeR@michigan.gov

Kerri Kulas, Financial Analyst
Phone: 517-335-0533
E-mail: KulasK@michigan.gov

Sue Spagnuolo, Accounting Technician
Phone: 517-241-4203
E-mail: SpagnuoloS2@michigan.gov

Lysandra Lang, Accounting Specialist
Phone: 517-335-0539
E-mail: LangL@michigan.gov

Daniel Kinde, Storekeeper
Phone: 517-335-0548
E-mail: KindeD@michigan.gov

Brandon Reed, Accounting Manager
Phone: 517-241-2391
E-mail: ReedB5@michigan.gov

Becki Gresh, Accountant
Phone: 517-241-2169
E-mail: GreshB@michigan.gov

Beverly Schmitt, Accounting Technician
Phone: 517-241-2171
E-mail: SCHMITTB2@michigan.gov

James Shilling, Facilities Department Manager
Phone: 517-241-2172
E-mail: ShillingJ@michigan.gov

Jodi Woodman, Financial Analyst
Phone: 517-241-2173
E-mail: WoodmanJ@michigan.gov

Ann Mazurek, Accounting Manager
Phone: 517-335-6212
E-mail: MazurekA1@michigan.gov