Skip to main content

Michigan Teacher Leadership Advisory Council

2023-24 MTLAC Flyer

Michigan Teacher Leadership Advisory Council


Michigan Teacher Leadership Advisory Council

The Regional Teachers of the Year, including the Michigan Teacher of the Year (MTOY), form the Michigan Teacher Leadership Advisory Council (MTLAC). During their year of service, the group of teacher leaders representing ten regions across Michigan regularly meet to share issues of importance to teachers and students with MDE, as well to provide input on proposed state and department initiatives.

The MTLAC began in 2017 with 24 educators from across Michigan applying directly to the MDE for selection to the advisory council before shifting to its current format in 2018-19 with membership determined through the MTOY program application process.

Congratulations to the 2023-24 Regional Teachers of the Year

Region 1: Gina Pepin, Reading teacher at Lemmer Elementary in Escanaba Area Public Schools
Region 2: Brandi Clark, Mathematics teacher at Kalkaska Middle School in Kalkaska Public Schools
Region 3: Stephanie Nielsen, Kindergarten teacher at Shawmut Hills Academy in Grand Rapids Public Schools
Region 4: Bridgit Sova, Special education teacher at H.H. Dow High School in Midland Public Schools
Region 5: Jennifer Senkmajer, Fourth grade teacher at Yale Elementary School in Yale Public School
Region 6: Nicole Minor, Mathematics teacher at Lansing Eastern High School in Lansing School District
Region 7: Jaime Hilaski, Visual arts teacher at Schoolcraft Junior-Senior High School in Schoolcraft Community Schools
Region 8: Lori Richert, Second and third grade teacher at Childs Elementary in Lincoln Consolidated Schools
Region 9: Vanessa Robert, Kindergarten teacher at Canton Charter Academy in Canton
Region 10: Candice Jackson, Third grade teacher at Mann Learning Community in Detroit Public Schools Community District

Meet the 2023-2024 Regional Teachers of the Year