Skip to main content

Academic Achievement Focus of Federal Grants to 72 Michigan School Districts

December 3, 2018

LANSING — Seventy-two school districts statewide are receiving nearly $4.5 million in grants to increase academic achievement through high-quality educator instruction and administrator leadership, the Michigan Department of Education (MDE) announced today.

Under the Teacher and Leader Instruction Support Competitive Grant Program, $4,482,842 in federal Title II, Part A funding is being dispersed to 72 local districts and public school academies (PSAs) across Michigan.

“I’m very pleased that this funding will help improve the skills of our state’s teachers and administrators and support our plan to make Michigan a Top 10 education state in 10 years,” Interim State Superintendent Sheila Alles said. “Ultimately, it is the students who will benefit from our goal of growing a workforce of highly-qualified teachers and administrators.”

Specifically, Alles said, one of the plan’s strategic goals supports efforts to develop, support, and sustain a high-quality, prepared, and collaborative education workforce.

Title II, Part A allows grant recipients to use the federal funds creatively to address challenges to teacher quality, whether they concern teacher preparation and qualifications of new teachers; recruitment and hiring; professional development; teacher retention; or the need for more capable principals and assistant principals to serve as effective school leaders.

In return, the districts are expected to see improvements in student academic achievement.

“High-quality professional development” meets the criteria contained in the definition of professional development in Title IX, Section 9101(34) of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA).

Professional development includes activities that:

  • improve and increase teachers’ knowledge of academic subjects and enable teachers to become highly qualified;
  • are an integral part of broad, school-wide and district educational improvement plans;
  • give teachers and principals the knowledge and skills to help students meet challenging state academic standards;
  • improve classroom management skills; 
  • are sustained, intensive, and classroom-focused and are not one-day or short-term workshops;
  • advance teacher understanding of effective instruction strategies that are based on scientifically-based research; and
  • are developed with extensive participation of teachers, principal, parents, and administrators.

According to MDE’s Office of Educator Excellence, the 72 grant-receiving districts were chosen in three rounds from a pool of 182 applicants. The grant review protocol was based on an application rubric resulting in scores of 0-63.

The three rounds were funded by carry-over dollars from 2017-19 State-Wide Activities Funds. The first round was prioritized for academically-struggling Partnership Districts.

Grant recipients are:

Round 1:

  • David Ellis Academy West, Detroit  
  • Henry Ford Acad School for Creative Studies, Detroit
  • Detroit Leadership Academy                                
  • Kalamazoo Public Schools
  • Detroit Public Schools Community District             
  • Mildred C. Wells Preparatory Academy, Benton Harbor
  • Eastpointe Community Schools                            
  • Muskegon Heights Public School Academy System
  • Ecorse Public Schools                                          
  • Saginaw Preparatory Academy
  • Grand Rapids Public Schools                                
  • William C. Abney Academy, Grand Rapids

Round 2:

  • Caniff Liberty Academy, Hamtramck                      
  • Hartford Public Schools
  • Coloma Community Schools                                 
  • Johannesburg-Lewiston Public Schools
  • Dryden Community Schools                                  
  • Manton Consolidated Schools
  • Eau Claire Public Schools                                      
  • Mayville Community School District
  • Essexville-Hampton Public Schools                        
  • North Branch Area Schools
  • Freeland Community School District                      
  • Petoskey Public Schools
  • George Crockett Academy, Detroit                       
  • Schoolcraft Community Schools
  • Gibraltar School District                                       
  • Summit Academy North, Romulus

Round 3:

  • Alpena Public Schools                                          
  • Kentwood Public Schools
  • Birch Run Area Schools                                        
  • Landmark Academy, Kimball
  • Center Line Public Schools                                    
  • Livonia Public School District
  • Charlton Heston Academy, Saint Helen                  
  • Marysville Public Schools
  • Chesaning Union Schools                                     
  • Mattawan Consolidated Schools
  • Cover Public Schools                                           
  • Mid-Michigan Leadership Academy, Lansing
  • Decatur Public Schools                                        
  • Oakland International Academy
  • Detroit Collegiate High School                              
  • Oscoda Area Schools
  • Detroit Innovation Academy                                 
  • Otsego Public Schools
  • East China School District                                    
  • Plymouth-Canton Community Schools
  • Flex Tech High School-Novi                                  
  • Reese Public Schools
  • Frankenmuth School District                                
  • Saugatuck Community Schools
  • Galesburg-Augusta Community Schools                
  • Southgate Community School District
  • Godfrey-Lee Public Schools                                  
  • State Street Academy, Bay City
  • Godwin Heights Public Schools                             
  • St. Charles Community Schools
  • Goodrich Area Schools                                         
  • Swan Valley School District
  • Harper Woods School District                               
  • Taylor Community Schools
  • Holly Area School District                                    
  • Traverse City Area Public Schools
  • Hope of Detroit Academy                                     
  • Van Buren Public Schools
  • International Academy of Flint                              
  • Vassar Public Schools
  • International Academy of Saginaw                        
  • Warren Consolidated Schools
  • Jonesville Community Schools