Skip to main content

MiSTEM Regions Around Michigan Develop Partnerships and Strategic Plans

February 12, 2019

LANSING – Michigan’s 16 MiSTEM Network Regions announced their strategic plans to bring together employers and educators, empower teachers, provide high-quality STEM experiences, and create a robust STEM culture, the Michigan Department of Education (MDE) and Michigan Department of Technology, Management, and Budget (DTMB) jointly announced today.

Last year, each region received part of nearly $1.3 million in state funding to develop their strategic plans. Implementing these plans will make each region a resource for its local communities and schools in adapting their instructional models and educational experiences to create a STEM-mindset among students in all subjects; providing high-quality STEM experiences to students; implementing state initiatives; and providing connections between employers and educators.

“Connecting educators with local employers to identify workforce needs and establishing plans are key steps in accelerating Michigan’s 21st Century economy,” said Interim State Superintendent Sheila Alles. “With a statewide and local focus on STEM learning and careers, every region of Michigan will contribute to us becoming a Top 10 education state.”

The STEM Network’s Executive Director Megan Schrauben said, “the MiSTEM Network journey allows us to redefine how to best meet the educational and career goals of our students. Having the entire state working together to reimagine the way students experience STEM will drive Michigan’s future and increase investment in local communities.”

The regional plans reflect the MiSTEM Advisory Council’s Four Pillars as necessary components to establish a system that will produce STEM-equipped students and educators:

  • Create a STEM culture
  • Empower STEM teachers
  • Integrate business and education
  • Ensure high-quality STEM experiences

The work of the MiSTEM Network is to build on existing STEM networks to create an ecosystem that supports and implements the components of the Four Pillars.

“The MiSTEM Advisory Council is excited about this next phase of STEM focus by the state,” said Christian Velasquez, Global Strategic Market Director at Dow Chemical and Co-Chair of the MiSTEM Advisory Council. “The MiSTEM Regions will allow for more engagement with Michigan’s STEM education process from business, non-profits, out-of-school STEM program providers, higher education, and community partners to help deliver a career-ready STEM workforce.”

In 2017, MDE and DTMB collaboratively approved awards to fiscal agents in each of the 16 regions to organize the development of a strategic plan in coordination with the Career and Education Advisory Councils. 

Fiscal Year 2018-2019 represents the first year of grants to these regions to carry out the strategic plans aligned with the MiSTEM Council Four Pillars. MDE and DTMB praised the educational organizations that have agreed to oversee the grant dollars for these regions by collaboratively providing support services, space, and access to resources for each of the MiSTEM regional directors.

For more information, go to

MiSTEM Network Regions

Fiscal Agent


Alpena-Montmorency-Alcona Educational Service District

Northeastern Michigan Region

Counties: Alcona, Alpena, Montmorency, Iosco, Crawford, Oscoda, Ogemaw Roscommon, Cheboygan, Otsego, Presque Isle

Copper Country ISD

Western Upper Peninsula Region

Counties: Baraga, Houghton, Gogebic, Keweenaw and Ontonagon

Eastern Upper Peninsula Intermediate School District

Eastern Upper Peninsula Region

Counties: Chippewa, Luce, Mackinac

Genesee ISD

I-69 Region

Counties: Genesee, Lapeer, St. Clair

Grand Valley State University

Greater West Michigan Region

Counties: Kent, Ottawa, Montcalm, Newaygo, Muskegon, Allegan


Huron ISD

Upper Thumb Region

Counties: Huron, Tuscola, Sanilac

Kalamazoo Regional Educational Service Agency

Southwest Region

Counties; Barry, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Kalamazoo, St. Joseph, Van Buren

Macomb ISD

Macomb Region

Counties: Macomb

Northern Michigan University

906-Central Region

Counties: Alger, Delta, Dickinson, Iron, Marquette, Menominee, and Schoolcraft

Oakland Schools

Oakland Region

Counties: Oakland

Saginaw Valley State University

East Central Michigan Region

Counties: Arenac, Bay, Clare, Gladwin, Gratiot, Isabella, Midland, Saginaw

Shiawassee Regional Education Service District

Mid-Michigan Region

Counties: Clinton, Eaton, Ingham, Ionia, and Shiawassee

Traverse Bay Area ISD

Northwestern Lower Michigan Region

Counties: Emmet, Charlevoix, Antrim, Benzie, Kalkaska, Grand Traverse, Leelanau

Washtenaw ISD

Southeast Region

Counties: Jackson, Hillsdale, Lenawee, Livingston, Monroe, Washtenaw

Wayne RESA

Wayne Region

Counties: Wayne

West Shore ESD

West Central Region

Counties: Mason, Lake, Oceana, Mecosta, Osceola, Manistee, Wexford, Missaukee