Skip to main content

Future Proud Michigan Educator Grow Your Own Staff Grants Awarded

LANSING – Eighty school districts in Michigan will be developing more teachers from within their ranks with Future Proud Michigan Educator Grow Your Own (GYO) staff grants, the Michigan Department of Education (MDE) announced today.

GYO staff grants will provide opportunities for districts to increase the number of teachers in areas of shortage by supporting school employees seeking initial certification or additional endorsements. With funding appropriated by the state legislature and Governor Gretchen Whitmer, these grants will fund a significant expansion of GYO programs across the state and help ensure that every student will have access to high quality instruction.

Awardees for GYO staff grants applied for funds in partnership with one or more state-approved educator preparation providers. With plans to support teacher candidates through their programs and beyond, the awardees will be able to reimburse costs associated with educator preparation. A reported 1,375 future educators will be able to access funds as a part of this effort.

“Grow Your Own programs provide a pathway for school support staff to benefit from their successful experiences working with children, to become teachers, and to fill crucial staffing needs,” said State Superintendent Dr. Michael Rice. “We are excited that schools and districts across the state are working in very substantial measure in collaboration with our teacher preparation programs to increase access to this proud and important profession in support of children.”

The demand for GYO programs is significant. MDE received 160 applications for supporting future educators pursuing certification through alternative route programs, which totaled $8.5 million in requested funds for the $500,000 appropriated for this purpose. Grants for this initiative range from $3,200-$64,000. Further, MDE received 129 applications for supporting future educators in degree-granting programs, which totaled $225 million in requested funds for the $175 million appropriated for this purpose. Grants for this initiative range from $17,000 for a single district to $19 million for a multi-district consortium.

To meet the high interest for GYO programs, MDE will provide a second opportunity for eligible applicants to request funding for degree-granting programs. School districts that want to learn more about the Round 2 GYO application process and timeline can consult the GYO Grant website or email

Staff who are interested in learning more about financial support for future educators are encouraged to visit and MI Student Aid to learn about funding opportunities for which they may be eligible. To consult a complete list of approved educator preparation programs in Michigan, visit the Michigan Directory of Educator Preparation Providers and Programs.

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2023 Future Proud Michigan Educator GYO staff grants:

  • Alpena-Montmorency-Alcona ESD
  • Ann Arbor Public Schools
  • Beaver Island Community School
  • Bloomingdale Public School District
  • Brighton Area Schools
  • Brown City Community Schools
  • Burt Township School District
  • C.O.O.R. Intermediate School District
  • Carney-Nadeau Public Schools
  • Casman Alternative Academy
  • Cassopolis Public Schools
  • Clawson Public Schools
  • Climax-Scotts Community Schools
  • Coloma Community Schools
  • Concord Community Schools
  • Copper Island Academy
  • Decatur Public Schools
  • Delton Kellogg Schools
  • Detroit Leadership Academy
  • Eagle's Nest Academy
  • Fennville Public Schools
  • Forest Area Community Schools
  • Fruitport Community Schools
  • Gaylord Community Schools
  • Genesee Intermediate School District
  • Grosse Pointe Public Schools
  • Harper Creek Community Schools
  • Harrison Community Schools
  • Hastings Area School District
  • Heritage Southwest Intermediate School District
  • Holly Academy
  • Huron Intermediate School District
  • Ionia Public Schools
  • Iron Mountain Public Schools
  • Ishpeming Public School District No. 1
  • Kaleva Norman Dickson School District
  • Kelloggsville Public Schools
  • Kent Intermediate School District
  • Kentwood Public Schools
  • Lake Fenton Community Schools
  • Lansing Public School District
  • Lawrence Public Schools
  • Lawton Community School District
  • Lincoln Consolidated School District
  • Macomb Intermediate School District
  • Manton Consolidated Schools
  • Marlette Community Schools
  • Mason Consolidated Schools (Monroe Co.)
  • Menominee Area Public Schools
  • Menominee Intermediate School District
  • Mid-Michigan Leadership Academy
  • Mt. Morris Consolidated Schools
  • New Branches Charter Academy
  • Northwest Education Services
  • Oakridge Public Schools
  • Owosso Public Schools
  • Parchment School District
  • Pontiac City School District
  • Renaissance Public School Academy
  • Richfield Public School Academy
  • Rockford Public Schools
  • Royal Oak Schools
  • Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College
  • Sanilac Intermediate School District
  • Sault Ste. Marie Area Schools
  • Stephenson Area Public Schools
  • Summit Academy North
  • Utica Community Schools
  • Van Buren Intermediate School District
  • Walkerville Public Schools
  • Warren Consolidated Schools
  • Washtenaw Intermediate School District
  • Waterford Montessori Academy
  • Waterford School District
  • Wayne-Westland Community School District
  • West Iron County Public Schools
  • West Ottawa Public School District
  • Wexford-Missaukee Intermediate School District
  • Wolverine Community School District
  • Ypsilanti Community Schools