The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Progressing to the Professional Teaching Certificate
The Professional Teaching Certificate is Michigan's 2nd tier of licensure. Progression to the Professional Teaching Certificate is optional for Michigan educators. This 2nd tier certificate is a recognition of additional literacy knowledge and teaching experience and is also intended to reflect an educator's completion of new teacher mentoring and induction supports into the profession. It is also available for experienced educators transferring licensure from another state under MCL 380.1531. It is valid for up to 5 years and progression may be applied for any time requirements are met.
- 3 years of successful teaching since the issue date of the initial Standard Teaching Certificate within the content areas and grade level of the Standard Teaching Certificate; and
- 6 semester credit hours of reading methods coursework for elementary teachers and 3 semester credit hours for secondary certified teachers. If you completed your teacher preparation program in Michigan since 1985, you have met this requirement; and
- 3 semester credit hours of reading diagnostics and remediation, which includes a field experience. This credit can be applied toward the professional learning requirement listed below, assuming the credit was earned after the issue date of the most recent certificate or renewal; and
- Education-Related Professional Learning totaling 150 hours; or An education-related master’s or higher degree earned at any time (even if previously utilized to renew the Standard Teaching Certificate) from a regionally accredited college or university; and
- Effectiveness ratings* in accordance with MCL 380.1531j:
- Consecutive: effective or highly effective ratings on your annual year-end performance evaluations for the 3 consecutive school years immediately preceding your application for a Professional Teaching Certificate; or
- Nonconsecutive: effective or highly effective ratings on your annual year-end performance evaluation for at least 3 nonconsecutive school years prior to applying for the Professional Teaching Certificate, including an Effective Educator Recommendation form completed by the chief school administrator of the school where you are currently employed.
*The approximate release date for effectiveness ratings is the 3rd week of July. Educators in their 3rd year of teaching cannot progress to the Professional Teaching Certificate until the ratings have been released and are viewable in their MOECS ratings tab.
Educators who hold the School Counselor (NT) endorsement on a teaching certificate, regardless of current assignment, must meet the requirements of law (MCL 380.1233(6)) to renew that teaching certificate. Information pertaining to renewing a school counselor credential can be accessed via the School Counselor Credential Renewals guidance. Endorsements are not renewed; rather, certificates are renewed, and a renewal of that certificate will maintain the existing endorsements. An endorsement can only be removed from a Michigan teaching certificate if the nullification process is utilized.
Education-Related Professional Learning
Education-Related Professional Learning Options
One of the following Education-Related Professional Learning options must be earned since the issue date of the most recent certificate or renewal. These hours must be entered into Michigan Online Educator Certification System (MOECS) prior to applying for the renewal for the system to recognize your eligibility:
- 6 semester credit hours appropriate to the content and grade level of the certificate and endorsement from a regionally accredited college or university; or
- 6 semester hours in a planned course of study* from a regionally accredited college or university; or
- 150 Michigan State Continuing Education Clock Hours (SCECHs) appropriate to the content and grade level of the certificate and endorsement; or
- 150 hours of Michigan District Provided Professional Development (DPPD) appropriate to the content and grade level of the certificate and endorsement.
- Any combination of the above.
*Credits in a planned course of study may include credits taken as part of an education-related master’s or higher degree or credits in a program that leads to an endorsement.
Education-Related Professional Learning Conversion
1 semester credit = 25 professional learning hours
1 SCECH Hour = 1 professional learning hour
1 DPPD hour = 1 professional learning hour