Search, Expunge, Modify, or Update Criminal History Records

Procedure to search criminal history records for employment/licensing when fingerprints are required by law: 

  • Obtain a RI-030 Live Scan Fingerprint Background Check Request form from your employer or the licensing agency. 
  • Complete sections II and IV of the form. 
  • Contact an approved Live Scan vendor
  • The Live Scan vendor will collect the State and FBI search fee.  Please note that an additional service fee may be charged by the Live Scan vendor. 
  • Other Live Scan sites may be available through the sheriff or local police departments. 
    • If using this option, we recommend calling the agency to verify their hours of operation for applicant fingerprinting.
  • Turnaround time is seven business days or less.  Responses are returned to the requesting employer or licensing agency indicated on the RI-030 Live Scan Fingerprint Background Check Request Form. 

Procedure to search criminal history records for visa, immigration, personal records check or adoption (fingerprints are required): 

  • If you are a Michigan resident, you may go to your local law enforcement agency and ask to be printed on a Michigan Applicant Fingerprint Card (RI-008). Complete the card entirely. 
    • We recommend calling the agency to verify their hours of operation for applicant fingerprinting. 
    • The law enforcement agency may choose to fingerprint you on a Live Scan machine.  They cannot submit the prints electronically.  They can provide you with the printed copy.
  • If you are not a Michigan resident but require a Michigan criminal history record check, go to any law enforcement agency in the state where you reside and ask to be printed on an FBI Applicant Fingerprint card (FD-258).  In the "Reason Fingerprinted" block of the card indicate the reason for the record check, i.e..; Visa, Immigration, Personal Record Review, Adoption.  Complete the card entirely. 
  • Include a cover letter explaining the reason for the fingerprint submission.  We can only send a criminal history to the individual that was printed.  Even, if requested, we cannot mail it to another individual or agency.  The applicant should also include a return address, phone number and/or e-mail address. 
  • Submit the fingerprints and a $30.00 processing fee in the form of a money order or check made payable to the State of Michigan to:

               Michigan State Police 
               CJIC
               P.O. Box 30266 
               Lansing, Michigan 48909-7766

  • One original certified/notarized response is provided.  If requesting multiple originals, please add $1.00 for each additional response. 
  • Allow 3 to 5 weeks for processing and mail delivery of the Michigan criminal history record search. 
  • If you require a national criminal history record check for a visa, immigration, personal records or adoption, you must ask the local law enforcement agency to be printed on an FBI Applicant Fingerprint card (FD-258) or a similar card.  The card, fee and a letter explaining your requirements must be sent directly to the FBI.  Details regarding the FBI requirements can be found at www.fbi.gov.  Select the link titled "Services" and follow the instructions listed under "Fingerprints and Other Biometrics" or call 304-625-5590 and speak with a Customer Service Representative. 

Petitioning the court for a legal change of name: 

  • File a Petition to Change Name with the court within the county you reside.
  • There are two options for fingerprinting.  Please verify with the court which option they utilize. 
    • Option 1 - Go to your local Michigan law enforcement agency and ask to be printed on a Michigan Applicant Fingerprint card (RI-008). Complete the card entirely. 
      • As noted above, we recommend calling the agency to verify their hours of operation for applicant fingerprinting.
      • The law enforcement agency may choose to fingerprint you on a Live Scan machine.  They cannot submit the prints electronically.  They can provide you with the printed copy.
      • Submit the card and a $43.25 processing fee in the form of a money order or check made payable to the State of Michigan and a copy of the Petition to Change Name form, with the name of the county and/or court indicated in the upper left corner, to:

    Michigan State Police 
    CJIC
    P.O. Box 30266 
    Lansing, Michigan 48909-7766

  • Allow 3 to 5 weeks for processing and mail delivery of the Michigan criminal history record search. Responses are returned to the court.
    • Option 2 - The court will provide you with the Live Scan Fingerprint Background Check Request form.
      • Contact the approved Live Scan vendor utilized by the court.
      • The Live Scan vendor will collect the State and FBI search fee.  Please note that an additional service fee may be charged by the Live Scan vendor.
        • If the approved vendor is a law enforcement agency, we recommend calling to verify their hours of operation for applicant fingerprinting.
      • Allow seven business days or less for processing.  Responses are returned to the court.
  • Questions regarding your legal change of name should be directed to the court where the petition was filed.

Information regarding the destruction of fingerprints with disposition findings of not guilty, not guilty by reason of insanity, dismissal, or nolle prosequi can be found in MCL 28.243 

  • The form MC235 (Motion for Destruction of Biometric Data and Arrest Card) must be completed by the court and signed by the judge. 
  • The Defendant's or Juvenile's name, current address, telephone number, and date of birth must be completed on the form. 
  • Fingerprints cannot be destroyed when the case is dismissed under the following statutes:

The form can be faxed to 517-241-0866 or mailed to: 

Michigan State Police 
CJIC
P.O. Box 30266 
Lansing, Michigan 48909-7766

Procedure to correct a criminal history record: 

Any corrections, modifications, or updates to criminal history records must be received by the reporting agency.  If received by anyone other than the agency who reported the information, the Michigan State Police must verify with that agency, prior to making any changes to the record.

  • If an arrest is reported in error, please contact the arresting law enforcement agency indicated within the arrest segment of your criminal history record.
  • If a charge segment is reported in error, please contact the prosecuting attorney's office indicated within the charge segment of your criminal history record.
  • If the court information is reported in error, please contact the court indicated within the judicial segment of your criminal history record.

For any of the changes above, the agencies may update the records electronically.  If they are unable to do so, they can contact our office at:

Phone: 517-241-0606
FAX: 517-241-0866
E-Mail:  msp-crd-crimhelp@michigan.gov

FBI Record: 

If you would like to correct information posted on the FBI record, you must contact the agency that furnished the information to the FBI.  For details outlining this procedure, please call 304-625-5590 and select option 2 or you may visit their website at www.fbi.gov for instructions on how to challenge your FBI record.  This includes all arrests by federal agencies, even those in Michigan. 

Contact msp-crd-crimhelp@michigan.gov if the entry on the FBI record is a Michigan law enforcement agency other than a Michigan-based federal agency.