BUREAU OF EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS - WAGE and HOUR DIVISION

  • Wage and Hour Division Mission Statement

    It is the mission of the Wage and Hour Division to provide public service through the fair, effective, and efficient administration of laws which protect the wages and fringe benefits of Michigan’s workers and ensure compliance with the requirement that certain entities post notices related to human trafficking.

  • Wage Hour Select Tiles

    Online Complaint    FAQs     Publications, Statutes & Rules    Request Documents FOIA    Contact Us

  • Paid Medical Leave Act     Minimum Wage and Overtime     Payment of Wages and Fringe Benefits    Prevailing Wage    Human Trafficking Notification

Quicklinks

  • Youth Employment

    Youth Employment Standards Act 90 of 1978 defines a minor who is less than 18 years of age, including but not limited to employees, volunteers, independent contractors and performing artists.

    Minors under 18 years of age must obtain a work permit or a written agreement or contract entered into between the employer and the governing school district, public school academy or nonpublic before starting work. 

  • The Michigan minimum wage effective January 1, 2020, is $9.65.